Fantastic Fiction: The Lumatere Chronicles

“Blood sings to blood, Froi…”

Words are in my blood. They speak to me and affect me on a cellular level. When you read a good story with awe-inspiring, beautiful words, you feel it in your bones. That’s what Melina Marchetta’s words do to me. Her words sing to me, and none so much as the books of the Lumatere Chronicles.

the lumatere chronicles

Photo courtesy of this blog.

I must thank my dear friend Fabienne for recommending these books to me. “They are to me what Harry Potter is to you,” she told me. With such a recommendation as that, I couldn’t help but read them. I wasn’t holding my breath to be swept away. How wrong I was.

Melina has expertly created a world that feels real, with breathtaking imagery and a history that makes me want to look it up in a textbook. But what is most amazing is her complex characters and the intense emotions she gives them to deal with. Be prepared for heartache and sorrow and anger and joy when reading these books.

 “I was told often that I couldn’t write fantasy unless I had read all the greats and knew the conventions well, but I think the first step to writing good fantasy is knowing this world we live in well. I wanted to look closely at that—where loss of faith, loss of homeland and identity, displacement of spirit, and breakdown of community are common— because these are the scenes in today’s media that affect me most. In this sense, the book is a search for identity in the same way that my other novels are.” -Melina Marchetta.

Forget reading all the greats, Melina. I think you’ve earned your place with them.

Finnikin of the Rock

Cover found here.

Book one takes us on a journey with Finnikin of the Rock. Ten years after the royal family of Lumatere was brutally murdered and the land cursed, trapping those within its walls, Finnikin and his mentor Sir Topher are wandering the surrounding countries and visiting the despairing and destitute exiles in their camps. They meet up with the mysterious young novice Evanjalin, who claims her dreams can lead them to a surviving royal heir and a way back into Lumatere. But Finnikin suspects she is hiding something, and when the truth comes to light, his faith in her and everything he knows will be tested.

Froi of the Exiles

Cover found here.

It’s been three years since the curse on Lumatere has been lifted, and the one time thief Froi believes he has found a home there. He has found a place with the Guard and shares a fierce friendship and loyalty with the Queen and Finnikin. When he is sent on a dangerous and secret mission to Charyn to assassinate the royal family however, he finds more than he expected in the dark and twisted royal court of barren Charyn. The strange kinship he feels to the people he meets and his attraction to the half-mad princess make it difficult to carry out his mission…and soon Froi finds himself in the middle of a massive political upheaval.

Quintana of Charyn

Cover found here.

The epic conclusion to this series brings all the stories of all our beloved characters to an end. Froi has been separated from his love, the Princess Quintana and their unborn child and he will stop at nothing to find her again. He and his companions travel through Charyn looking for her, all the while building an army in Quintana’s name to ensure her rightful place on the throne. Meanwhile in the valley between Lumatere and Charyn, Quintana hides and waits for her child to be born. She and Queen Isaboe  engage in a struggle of power, politics and personal prejudice with a bittersweet ending.

***

And there you have it. Three intricately crafted, incredibly well-written books to make up one fantastic trilogy. I highly recommend giving them a try. Like all good books, the Lumatere Chronicles inspired me and made me want to write – so much so that it was fight between my desire to keep reading (I didn’t want to put the books down!) and getting up to write! So if you’re looking for something new to read, head to your local library or bookstore and pick up a copy of Melina Marchetta’s Finnikin of the Rock. 

Happy reading.

28 thoughts on “Fantastic Fiction: The Lumatere Chronicles

  1. I have actually been looking for something new to read. Do you think a dude would like them or are they focused more on women? I’m sure if you recommend it, they will be good. Words are my flow too!

    • I think this series would appeal to both men and women. There are plenty of strong men and women characters, and the first two books are mainly focused on male main characters. There’s also mature themes in all the books, so I think it will appeal to older audiences as well as young adults.

      • Haha I think you can handle it. The quest for the logo was postponed momentarily since I actually had work to do at work (what is that about?) but I will hopefully have something soon. Ahhhh I am so jealous you get to see it at midnight!! I am going on Saturday.

      • I think it is so rude when people make you do work at your job. I occasionally have to do that sometimes, and it makes me really bitter. No rush on the logo. It’s not like I am any part of it. I have just a few hours to go. Saturday isn’t that long of a wait anyways.

      • Yeah, totally. I mean what do they think you’re there for – to work for them? Yeah, the logo will come along eventually. And of course you’re a part of it! Your ideas have been an integral part. :D So exciting. Yeah, not so far, not really.

      • Maybe if they paid a lot of money then I might feel like working, but I have a dang blog to run. And it is a thousand times more interesting that doing work. I just I could contribute more to the evil logo. I need to have a talk with your boss about allowing you to do blog related stuff more.

      • Same here! Blogging is just so much more interesting…oh once I get some logos put together you will definitely be part of the editing process. It is important. Haha I don’t think he’d go for it. :p

      • I get to be part of the evil editing process? I can’t wait to edit out any good guys or good things from the logos. I saw MOS last night/this morning. It was awesome. Can’t wait till you can see it!

      • So the tides have changed now. I am the evil second in command. It’s how it like it anyways. It gives me the motivation to plot my evil takeover. (Twirling my curly mustache.)

      • I thought we agreed on this last week? An evil takeover, hmm? I don’t know whether to be proud of your developing evil skills or worried about a possible takeover.

      • Of course we agreed on this last week. I never told you that I wouldn’t take over though. You should be both. Terrified and proud. It will be an evil crazy ride.

      • That’s true. You wouldn’t be much of a villain if you told me about it though…just like I wouldn’t be much of one if I didn’t expect it. So yes. I am both terrified and proud. Let the games begin.

      • It is on the way from Amazon then. I am counting on this being good because you recommended it. If it is terrible, I might turn bitter and evil. On the other hand, if it is good, I will still be bitter and evil.

      • Sweet! I am counting on you liking it because I am an evil genius with good taste. If you don’t like it, then my plan to make you even more evil and bitter will have worked.

Tell me what you think!

