Blog Hopping and Booky Questions

Happy Friday! Today I am participating in a blog hop, courtesy of the ever-charming Rohan. In this blog hop I’ll answer a few questions about my novel-in-progress. Let’s get started!

What is the (working) title of your book?

My book is called Tempests.

Where did the idea come from for the book?

My dear friend Fabienne and I have been writing partners and friends for a couple of years now, and ever since I met her we’ve swapped stories about two strong warrior women (our bad-ass alter egos, naturally), who have to brave all sorts of dangers to rescue our princes. Last year for her birthday, I wrote her a short, fairy-tale like story about two young women named Robin and Rose, who had to face the terrors of the mystical land of Faerie to rescue a group of kidnapped young men (the finest in the kingdom). As I wrote, it sort of…mutated and never stopped growing. Now I have a whole world to play with.

What genre does your book fall under?

Young adult fantasy and adventure.

Which actors and/or actresses would you choose to play your characters in the movie rendition?

Oh, this question was so hard! Honestly, I’d like to give a few unknowns a chance if I were actually casting this movie, but for the sake of the question, let’s see. For my two main characters, I think Karen Gillan (Doctor Who) could play Robin and Katie McGrath (Merlin, Labyrinth, The Tudors) could play Rose. I’d have to give a lot more thought into casting anyone else (there’s so many characters!) so I’ll stick with those two for now.

What is the one sentence synopsis of your book?

Robin and Rose, young members of the Order of Tempests, discover a plot behind a series of kidnappings in the kingdoms of the Misty Isles and set out on an unauthorized rescue mission to the mystical land of Faerie, where they’ll learn that all is not as it seems and that villains aren’t always who you expect.

Will your book be self-published or represented by an agency?

I’m not sure yet. Right now I am leaning towards self-publishing. I like the amount of control given to the author and idea that I would have a hands-on experience creating my book (beyond writing it).

How long did it take you to write the first draft of your manuscript?

It took me about three months to finish the first draft and then I set it aside for a few months before taking it out to edit!

What other books would you compare this story to within your genre?

Let’s see. There’s been so many fantasy books to inspire me…like The Ranger’s Apprentice Series by John Flanagan, my main characters are young and still learning their craft, and the story spans several kingdoms. Like in Cornelia Funke’s Inkheart Trilogy, there is magic and a new world for my characters to explore and like in Melissa Marr’s Wicked Lovely, my Fae (the creatures of Faerie), especially the enigmatic Lord Aramis, are sultry, dark, and trick-some.

Who or What inspired you to write this book?

It’s been my dream to write a book since my childhood, but for this particular story, I would say that my friend Fabienne inspired me, and my family and friends encouraged me to finish it. Also, as a lover of fantasy and adventure books myself, I would say that many of the books I’ve read before have inspired me to add to this impressive genre.

What else about your book might pique the reader’s interest?

Robin and Rose are female knights. If you like strong, interesting female characters, hopefully you will be satisfied. (And truly – am I the only person fascinated by the idea of a female knight?)

This story includes a talking mouse (who is in reality a king’s Scholar who has been cursed by a goblin) named Monteray Percival Octavius Napoleon Mouse. (Monty for short). He’s quite funny, though he doesn’t mean to be. It isn’t his fault he’s always thinking about food. Monty acts as a sort of guide for Robin and Rose, though he is actually on his own Quest to find the lost Prince of Firth. Pity he’s been at it for one hundred years with no luck. To find out more, you’ll have to read the book!

Now I pass this Blog Hop along to:

Please feel free to join in even if I haven’t mentioned you directly. As always, thanks for reading. Tempests won’t be released for a good while yet, but I’m certainly enjoying writing and editing it. Thanks for all your support!

12 thoughts on “Blog Hopping and Booky Questions

    1. Thanks!
      I’m not exactly sure, but that’s what Rohan called it, so that’s what I called it! I suppose it’s called that since the post is “hopping” along to other people’s blogs. :p

  1. Sounds like loads of fun Tiffany! I like the role reversal, female knights coming to save the kidnapped princes, so cool 🙂

    It seems you have a real passion for writing and for the fantasy genre and I bet that comes through in Tempests!

    Wishing you all the best with finishing the book, so exciting huh!

    Rohan.

    1. Thanks Rohan! Yes, I enjoy the role reversal too – it is of oucrse the whole basis for the story! 😀
      I do have a passion for fantasy – I read all sorts of genres, but this is my one true love and I hope my story will add to the millions of other fantastic stories out there!
      Yes, it is very exciting! I am loving ever step in creating it.
      Cheers,
      Tiffany

Tell me what you think!

