It’s Bigger on the Inside!

For those of you Doctor Who fans (sometimes known as Whovians), the phrase “it’s bigger on the inside” is instantly recognizable as the most common reaction to someone seeing the inside of the T.A.R.D.I.S. for the first time.

bigger on the inside - TARDIS
Photo found here.

But for those of you unfortunate souls who aren’t familiar with Doctor Who, I’ll try to explain it to you. The show is mainly about a man called the Doctor who travels through time and space and saves the universe. (I’m not sure I can simplify it any more than that because really, the show is just so much more.) The Doctor travels in a blue “Police Public Call Box” called the T.A.R.D.I.S., which stands for Time And Relative Dimension In Space. He likes to travel with a companion or two, usually a pretty earth girl. The whole of time and space is his playground. The sometimes-companion River Song says it best. With the Doctor it’s next stop, everywhere.

tenth Doctor
Photo found here.

In current time and space, Doctor Who airs on BBC America Saturday nights at 8 pm EST. This past Saturday night brought us a new episode of Doctor Who called Journey to the Center of the T.A.R.D.I.S., which took us deeper into the mysterious time machine. For the most part we never see more than the console (control) room. Other rooms (like the swimming pool) have been mentioned, but we haven’t seen much of them until now. So while I was in raptures over these extra glimpses of the T.A.R.D.I.S. (especially the library!), I was challenged to write about what the inside of the T.A.R.D.I.S. would look like if she were mine. Challenge accepted.

For this challenge I’m just going to describe the inside of my T.A.R.D.I.S., because I don’t think I could bear to change her blue box exterior. I’ll mainly focus on the design of the console room and not the many, many other rooms that would be included, because the T.A.R.D.I.S. is infinite. It can literally fit anything you can imagine and keep on building. But that does mean I won’t mention a few things… Anyway, here we go. My thinking cap is on and I’m channeling my inner interior designer….allons-y!

steampunk house
Photo found here.

I’m imagining an overall steampunk theme for my console room. I’ll use lots of blues, golds, browns, and copper tones throughout the design. It will have a high, midnight blue ceiling with changing constellations (from all the different galaxies). The console and the controls will be in the center, on a platform as it has been for the past few Doctors. There will be soft, comfortable benches or couches in the room – since the Doctor and his companions seem to spend so much time there, it would be nice to have a comfortable place for my companions to sit. Plus I might need something soft to fall on if the T.A.R.D.I.S. hits some turbluence or has a particularly rough landing. The room will be round, with a floor that looks like a clock face when you look down at it.

gear clock
Photo found here.

Most likely I’ll have various books stacked around the room, a few jackets, several cups of tea, and other miscellaneous items I used or picked up from my latest travels. Towards the back of the room I’ll have a wide staircase that leads to really long, hardwood-floor hallway (perfect for sliding in socks). From this hallway there will be loads of brightly colored doors and interesting archways that lead to my many, many rooms.

Some rooms will have no purpose except to hold interesting things. Like this room full of trunks and suitcases:

suitcase wallI will have the biggest closet in existence. The only room that will be bigger than my closet will be the library, which will be so big it puts the library in Disney’s Beauty and the Beast to shame.

big library
Photo found here.

There will definitely be a room with a gigantic slide, like the fun slides at the fair. I may or may not attempt to go mattress surfing on it.

fun slide
Photo credit here.

I’ll probably want to have lots of guest rooms (for my family when they want to travel or visit) and even though I generally avoid cooking at all costs, I’ll probably have a large kitchen – open and welcoming for when I want to bake chocolate chip cookies. (Baking isn’t cooking. It’s different.)

david tennant cookie
Yes Doctor. I like to make cookies. You can have one. (Photo found here.)

I could easily keep going, because as I said earlier, the T.A.R.D.I.S. is infinite, and she builds whatever I (or rather, the Doctor) requires. I could literally go on adding rooms forever. But that would make getting around quite difficult, I would imagine. So I’m going to wrap it up there. Hope this satisfies the “What’s inside Tiffany’s T.A.R.D.I.S.” question. It’s certainly been fun.

What about you? What would the inside of your T.A.R.D.I.S look like? Let me know in the comments. Thanks for reading!

16 thoughts on “It’s Bigger on the Inside!

    1. Interesting! So would you be listening to some groovy tunes while you traveled?
      Yes, I do believe there is supposed to be a cyberman episode written by Neil Gaiman…as far as I know, that is still on the schedule.

      1. Yes! We’re getting close to the end of the season, though, aren’t we? Or are we? I know “The Crimson Terror” is next … then “The Name of the Doctor.” And then there’s the 50th anniversary special in November. I’m wondering when this cyberman thing is going to happen….

      2. Yes, there’s only a few more episodes…”The Crimson Terror” is next, but “The Name of the Doctor” will be the finale episode. So I’m assuming the cyberman episode will be in between. Oh, and I’m so excited for the 50th Anniversary in November!!

    1. Why thank you! As you can see, I’m a fan of the steampunk style myself. 🙂 And with the T.A.R.D.I.S. being so big on the inside….I can’t imagine that you would have to leave!

  1. A very interesting post. I love Doctor Who and Neil Gaimen (Sandman comics). I like the older Doctor Who’s. Especially the black and white period. As a digital artist, and a somewhat post modern thinker, my interior would definitely be digital and minimalist. Stop by my blog n e w d i g i t a l s c a p e s and check out my recent video post Experiment: Data Complex. My interior would like that. I like your blog, so I am defintely going to subscribe and check out more of your work.
    Here’s to Traveling (creatively speaking) without moving.
    Walter

    1. Thank you. As you can guess, I love them both too. I am a particular fan of Neil Gaiman’s Neverwhere and The Graveyard Book. I am still working my way through all the old Doctor Whos, but so far I have really enjoyed them. It’s interesting to see how the newer Doctors drew inspiration from the older Doctors (irony there being the older Doctors are actually younger than the the newer Doctors…)
      The video was really interesting. I enjoyed picturing your T.A.R.D.I.S. while watching it. (I also liked your Zen Nature video). As a graphic designer myself I can certainly appreciate the minimalist approach.
      I enjoyed looking through your blog as well, so I will return the favor and follow to see more of your work too.
      Traveling without moving…I like that. I’m going to add it to the quotes around my desk, if you don’t mind. Thanks for stopping by!
      Cheers,
      Tiffany

  2. Love the steampunk idea. It could really work for the T.A.R.D.I.S. I’m not all that crazy about the current interior. Regarding the kitchen, I’m sure you’d be able to get food synthesizers like they had on the Enterprise. It’s timelord tech, after all – anything’s possible.

    I’ll be stealing the library and suitcase room as well if I ever get my own T.A.R.D.I.S. (Actually watching the ninth doctor episodes again as I’m typing this 😀 )

    1. Thanks! I think so too (And I can totally picture Idris liking a steampunk theme). I’m still getting used to the new interior. It’s modern, but at the same time I think borrows from the earliest Doctors’ TARDIS interiors – almost bare. Yes, I could do that…or just take along a companion who knows how to cook! lol

      Feel free to borrow any ideas you like. I think anyone’s TARDIS would definitely have a huge library for sure!
      Ah, Nine. He was a first Doctor. I cried when he regenerated. But I’ve loved all the Doctors in their own way (especially Ten). 😀

      1. I’m not at all familiar with the older doctors (except for the books I read as a kid). Those seasons were never broadcast in South Africa.

        I liked David Tennant much more than Eccleston, but Matt Smith has really grown on me. But in the end they’re each brilliant in his own way.

      2. I’m only just getting acquainted with the older Doctors by borrowing the older episodes from my library. It’s a slow process. I’m pretty much the same. Eccleston introduced me to the Doctor, but I quickly fell in love with David. Matt as grown on me as well, though I admit I think I was sold by the time we reached “fish fingers and custard.”

Tell me what you think!

