The Bones of Giants

Hello and Happy Friday! It’s time once again for Friday Fictioneers, the challenge to write a 100 word story based on a photo. I had fun writing it last week, and I hope you enjoyed reading it. If you missed it, you can check out that story here. Thanks to the wonderful Rochelle for the prompt, and without further ado, here we go!

photo by kent bonham
Photo by Kent Bonham.

The bones of GIANTS

Avery looked up at the massive building with awe. The ivory pillars looked like…he shook his head. The rumors couldn’t actually be true, could they?

Leon raised his eyebrows. “Of course the rumors are true, boy! Made from the bones of giants, this palace was, after King Evan defeated the dread giant Gorlag and his armies.”

“Wow,” breathed Avery, his eyes alight. He stood there gawking for a minute or two more before scampering after the old man. “Will you tell me more about the giants, Grandfather Leon? And King Evan?”

“Perhaps.”

Avery grinned. Trips with Grandfather were the best.

7 thoughts on “The Bones of Giants

  1. I like it! And I hope there’s more to the story somewhere – I’d definitely keep reading if there is. Bit of a Game of Thrones feel to it, and I don’t mind that one bit. Nice one!

    1. I’m glad you enjoyed it! Actually, I made it up on the spot…but I wouldn’t mind writing a little more about Grandfather Leon and Avery. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Ha! You’re good at this! I love how we don’t know if it’s a real fantasy world or his his grandpa just loves telling fantastical stories 🙂

    I agree with Brian, there is definitely more to this story if you ever wanted to develop it!

    Thanks for sharing Tiffany, I look forward to the next one!

    Rohan.

    1. Thanks Rohan! That is an interesting way to think about it…perhaps I will continue using these characters in my prompts, or I might just write them a story of their own!

      Thanks for reading. 🙂

  3. Love it. As the others said, there’s definite potential for a short story or even novel. Add a copyright notice, quick, before i steal it. 😉

    1. With as many people who have suggested this, I might just have to look into it. I’m working on another novel at the moment, but I think I could find time to explore with Leon and Avery sometime….

      Right. “The Bones of Giants” and all characters copyright Tiffany R. Metzger, all rights reserved. 😉

      Thanks for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed it! 🙂

Tell me what you think!

