The Personals

Welcome to my favorite part of the week…Friday Fictioneers! Here I will write a short 100 word story in response to a photo prompt. Thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for providing the prompts. I really like this week’s photo. Check it out:

Janet Webb
Photo courtesy of Janet Webb.

the PERSONALS

Nothing out of the ordinary could be said about the Dawson and Whitmore wedding, but the reception was good. The following week in the Darling City Times, some new personals were posted.

Monday:

To the brunette bridesmaid, this downtown man is looking for an uptown girl. Haven’t got money for pearls but I’ll treat you right. Want to meet?

Friday:

Dear downtown boy, try the Kingston Apartment Building on 4th. You’ll know the room. Sincerely, Your Uptown Girl

Adam smiled and looked up at the dark brick building. Hanging from the balcony on the second floor was a bridesmaid dress.

24 thoughts on “The Personals

      1. Heck yes. I think I keep this little nugget on the back burner for now…but if it ever goes anywhere I’ll be sure to include you in the acknowledgements. 🙂

  1. This is brilliant. So simple, yet with such a wealth of detail. The best I could come up with was some modern Cinderella rehash that didn’t even make it to the draft stage.

    1. Thank you! My first thought was of a cinderella-type story, but then I got the idea of the dress being hung out there for someone to see. Then the personals popped into my head and it went from there. I heard Billy Joel’s “Uptown Girl” while I was writing, and it helped shape my personal ads.

    1. Thank you! Though I quite enjoyed your take on it as well. It’s amazing to see the number of stories that come from one photo each week! And so many genres.

  2. Ha! This is really adorable Tiffany. No idea how you come up with these ideas from the prompts 🙂

    Hope you had a nice weekend!

    Rohan.

Tell me what you think!

