Quoting the Quill #2

quoting the quill“Art and love are the same thing: It’s the process of seeing yourself in things that are not you.” -Chuck Klosterman

This was the quote I found in my inbox this morning from Goodreads. It struck an immediate chord with me, like a moment of epiphany – “yes, that’s exactly it!” – like there was something I was trying to work out in the back of my brain and suddenly the answer appeared before me. (it’s quite a good feeling).

I think art and love are about seeing things others can’t see and bringing them to light. An artist looks at an object and sees not just the object, but the invisible spaces around it, supporting it and giving it shape. In a smile they see not just a smile, but the crinkles around the eyes that show this person loves to smile and does it often; they see how minutely a smile affects a person’s whole body, the tiny lifting of the shoulders and the straightening of the spine, as if they are being lifted by invisible strings. An artist sees those strings and puts them on paper for the world to see.

In a similar way, when you’re in love, you see more of that person than everyone else does. You see the invisible bits of a person that makes them who they are – those dreams, fears, secret desires and experiences that make them individual. You see the best and worst in them and the mixed-up, imperfect result and you take that result and display it at your side for the world to see.

Everyone has their own opinions on art and love. Some people will hate what you have created and try to tell you that it isn’t art or the love isn’t real, while others will sing praise over your masterpiece or tell you they’ve never seen a couple more in love. But in either case, you know you have created something special because people are talking about it. No one talks about something that makes them feel indifferent. No – people talk about the things that awe and inspire them, that make them smile and laugh, that make them wish they could have done it first, that make them feel angry or sad or jealous and the things that force them to see the world in a different way.

So make art and find love, and see what nobody else sees. Then display it for the world to see – or don’t. Because that’s the best part about art and love. Even if you don’t tell anyone, it will fill you up from the inside and the world will see a person who is content. They may not know the reason, but you will and that’s all that really matters.

***

Quoting the Quill is meme created by Becky at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic, which is post every other Wednesday.  If you’d like to find out more or join in the fun, check out the details here.

 

20 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #2

  1. You are very wise young supervillan. In order to make you feel more evil and add to your evil backstory, I want to tell you that I have already purchased my tickets for Man of Steel at 12:01 am on June 14th. I will be spoiling everything for you by posting a comment on your blog that you will accidently read before it is too late.

    1. Why thank you. I was worried that posting this sort of touchy-feely post would ruin my supervillain image, but then I decided it’s all part of my disguise – I will trick everyone into believing what a sweet, innocent but wise young woman I am, and they won’t realize how evil I am until it’s too late.
      *gasp!* I am jealous…and noooo how could you exploit my Superman weakness like that? Oh wait. Because that’s what supervillains do, right?

      1. I turn tables upon turning tables. The way I win wars is confusion. That is my evil mastermind plan. I just told you it so you think that you will know that plan, when really I have another confusing plan that only I know. Or that only I am confused about. Get it?

      2. No. I think I’m confused. Or maybe I’m not really confused, because I just want you to think I’m confused, so you think your plan is working. Or maybe I’m confused, but just pretending to be not confused pretending to be confused.

      3. It’s all very confusing until you understand it clearly as you are falling to your doom at the bottom of the ocean. At least it will be for those who oppose us.

      4. I caught that we were on the same side about halfway through so threw that those who opposed me would get all those things. We are like Siblings of Evil.

      5. Oh, well maybe he should be your Sibling of Evil, unless he is actually good. Then he can’t be your Sibling of Evil, he would be your sibling of rivalry. I’m really good at logic.

      6. Hmm, I’ll have to ask him. I think it depends on what mood he’s in. He may actually be my Sibling of Chaos, because you never know what he’s going to do next. But your logic infallible.

      7. Well he can’t take chaos because that is mine. But he can be evil brother if he works on his evilness. Hey you are good at art right? Aren’t you in graphic design? You should do a thing that does our League of Doom and put it on your blog or let me do it on mine with no demands of money for stealing your great art work!

      8. Alright. I’ll talk to him. Why yes I am. Hmm, this sounds like a fantastic idea. I will begin the sketches immediately, and all who join our League of Doom can display it on our blogs. 😀

Tell me what you think!

