Life of a Letter

Hello, hello! And Happy Friday. By now I’m sure you know the drill. It’s time for Rochelle Wisoff-Fields‘ challenge to write a 100 word story from a photo prompt, otherwise known as Friday Fictioneers. So here we go.

copyright - Indira by way of Scott Vanatter
Copyright – Indira by way of Scott Vanatter

Life of a LETTER

In the beginning, I was empty.

You filled me up with words of laughter, love, gossip and urgent news. You wrote my birthday in the top right corner and you wrapped me in an envelope with a smart stamp.

You dropped me in box filled with my fellows with a kiss for luck.

My journey was a blur of colors, sounds, and the feeling of human hands. In the end, a new, special set of hands picked me up and broke my seal.

I was witness to simple joy. Once I was empty, but now I am full of memories.

8 thoughts on “Life of a Letter

  1. Oh man, amazing. Well done giving such soul and personality to what is already such a cool and often romantic object; the letter.

    I really enjoyed this one Tiffany 🙂

    Rohan.

    1. Thanks Rohan! I love writing letters to my loved ones – and I always kiss them before dropping them in the mailbox (don’t know why, it just feels right) and I love getting letters in return. I know how happy it makes me to write them and read them, so it was easy to translate that into a short story. I was really happy with how this turned out. Glad you liked it as well!

      Cheers,
      Tiffany

Tell me what you think!

