Woes of a Sullen Servant

Now for my favorite part of the week…Friday Fictioneers! As usual, special thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for providing the prompt.

goats and graves - randy mazie
Photo copyright – Randy Mazie.

Woes of a Sullen Servant

“Edwin, do my laundry. Edwin! Fetch me supplies! Edwin, trudge all over the city looking for a man I accidentally turned into a goat!” With a vicious kick, Edwin sent gravel flying in all directions. A group of old ladies in their Sunday best paused to give him a reproving look. Edwin glared at them. He hated this godforsaken century and its fast moving, noisy towns and stuffy people. Forget modern conveniences, he just wanted to get back to ancient Greece. Now if he could just find that thrice-damned goat, maybe his mistress Krisandra could focus on their return spell.

34 thoughts on “Woes of a Sullen Servant

    1. Definitely. I get the impression that Krisandra is enjoying herself though. It’s just Edwin who feels homesick and has to do all the dirty work.
      Thanks for reading!

      1. I think one of my kids may have to finish it. Probably both. At least it will make lots of money, because dead authors always get more famous dead than alive.

    1. Brilliant! I quite liked his name too – it was first thing that came to me. That just makes my day, hearing that. 🙂 I’m glad you enjoyed it. Did you get some strange looks?

      1. Actually, they asked what I was laughing at. I read it to them and flipped my monitor around to show them the picture. Your story is currently the talk of the waiting room at the moment!

    1. You’re welcome! I’m starting to think I have a knack for comedic writing. Strange part is I’m not doing it on purpose. It just happens.

      Glad you enjoyed it!

  1. These stories are such a tease!! Every single time I just want to keep reading and find out what’s going on lol. It would be so cool to turn some of these into longer, but still short, stories. Writing is time and life consuming but if you ever do expand on any of these flash fictions do let me know hehe, would love to read them 🙂

    I wonder what other misadventures Edwin and Krisandra (great name!) have in store for themselves!

    Rohan.

    1. 😀 I’m getting quite the stock of little stories that could be expanded. But that feeling is great – that’s exactly what a good story should do – leave you wanting more! I might just do that someday – I promise you’ll the first to know when I do!

      Haha I’m glad you liked the names – I thought they worked well together.

      Cheers,
      Tiffany

Tell me what you think!

