Black Lightning

Happy Friday! It’s time once again for my favorite post of the week: Friday Fictioneers. To give credit where credit is due, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for providing the prompts.

photo by anelephantcant
Photo by anelephantcant.

Black Lightning

Amy bought the bike when she was nine years old. It was old and rusty, but she didn’t care. She signed up for the races the next day.

“With that old thing?” Cody Holloway jeered.

“That’s right,” said Amy proudly. “Put me under the name Black Lightning.” Cody snorted, but wrote it in his red college-ruled notebook.

“Entry is two dollars,” he said, eyeing her skeptically. Amy shoved two crumpled bills in his hand.

“See you at the finish line,” she growled.  Cody and his friends laughed hysterically. Three lost races later however, Black Lightning didn’t seem so funny anymore.

28 thoughts on “Black Lightning

    1. 🙂 Glad you liked it. Now if I could just feel the same way before I publish…I always feel like it’s a hit and miss with these stories. I’m never certain they’re any good until after I publish them.

      1. Woah! That sounds super sweet! You know, my little sister suggested we use a volcano as our Creators of Chaos logo, because what is more chaotic than a volcano? What do you think?

      2. She was just giving me ideas. I really need to find some free time to turn those sketches I did into actual graphics. Procrastination. I gots it bad…

      3. I procrastinate quite a bit too. That podcast thing I did I was invited to do it probably a month ago and finally got around to doing it. No rush…or should I say it is so you don’t procrastinate….

      4. Oh trust me…I will. But it will be awesome when it’s finished. You know, I kind of like just calling it “The Chaos.” Then we can send people invites to join Chaos. Hmm. I’ll have to think about that.

Tell me what you think!

