Quoting the Quill #5

neil gaiman
Via Pinterest.

“May your coming year be filled with magic and dreams and good madness. I hope you read some fine books and kiss someone who thinks you’re wonderful, and don’t forget to make some art — write or draw or build or sing or live as only you can.” -Neil Gaiman

I’ve been feeling artsy lately. Drawing, designing, crafting, cooking, writing – even a little bit of needlework – I’ve done it all in the past few weeks. And it feels good. I’m not sure if there is anything in particular that has been inspiring me. It’s a whole mess of things, really. Life is just good right now.

But it’s not always that way. Sometimes I go through dry spells where I write nothing, draw nothing and make nothing. My creative muse takes a vacation and leaves me sitting by the window waiting for their return. Those weeks seem dull in comparison to the bright, busy weeks like I’ve been having.

In those dry, dull weeks, I look for inspiration. I wait to find that tiny spark, that little, seemingly insignificant detail that breathes life into my brain and gets my creative juices flowing. One thing that always does that for me is Neil Gaiman and his address to the 2012 graduating class of the University of the Arts. Not only is he a great writer and artist,  he also gives good speeches. It is phenomenal. Every time I hear it I want to get up and get out there and start creating things like a mad woman. Because my brain is just so full of ideas and I have so much to share with the world!

So if you’re looking for some inspiration today, to do anything creative, watch Neil Gaiman’s commencement speech to the 2012 graduating class of the University of the Arts. You won’t be disappointed. See it here.

***

Quoting the Quill is meme created by Becky at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic, which is post every other Wednesday.  If you’d like to find out more or join in the fun, check out the details here.

8 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #5

  1. It’s awful when it feels like the muses have deserted you. But it seems like you’re doing what Jack London advises: “You can’t wait for inspiration. You have to go after it with a club.”

Tell me what you think!

