Queen Frostine

Hello all! I know I’m a bit later than usual in posting this week’s Friday Fictioneers, but this story took me a while to work on. Not sure if I like the final product or not. Let me know in the comments! Also, thanks to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for providing the prompt.

maui-from-mauna-kea
Photo by Douglas M. MacIlroy.

Queen Frostine

I drew from the messy stack of worn white cards. “Queen Frostine,” I announced.

Emily squinted at the card. “That’s s’not right.”

I turned the card around, inspecting it carefully. Her face was a bit fuzzy. “Yes it is.”

Emily shook her head.  I shrugged and reached for the blue martini sitting on the coffee table beside us, as per the rules of our traditional Candy Land Drinking Game.

“No!”

“What’s wrong with you?”

“I stacked the deck!” she bit out.

I stared at her a full two minutes before wordlessly handing her the blue martini. Some things never change.

12 thoughts on “Queen Frostine

Tell me what you think!

