Welcome to the Family, Peter Capaldi!

Or rather, welcome back. Yesterday on Doctor Who Live: The Next Doctor, BBC unveiled the 12th Doctor, due to make his appearance in this year’s Christmas Special. And the new Doctor is…Peter Capaldi!

peter capaldi
Via BBC.

If you follow Doctor Who at all, you’ll probably know by now that Peter has appeared on the show before, in the episode “The Fires of Pompeii,” (as Caecilius) and that he has also appeared in the Whoverse spin-off series, Torchwood: Children of Earth as British Home Secretary John Frobisher. Not only that, but he is a proclaimed life-long fan of Doctor Who. In any case, Peter is no stranger to the world of Who!

Peter Capaldi is a well-known actor, perhaps most known for his role in the comedic series The Thick of It, as Malcolm Tucker, a foul-mouthed, grumpy doctor. He has also appeared in BBC’s The Hour, as well many other roles, which you can find here.

When I first saw Peter had been cast as the new Doctor, I was a bit reserved – not really sure I would like him or not (which is ridiculous really – the Doctor is the Doctor. It may take a while to get used to his new face, but he’s the Doctor. How could you not like him?). After seeing his interview on YouTube however, I warmed right up to him. I am excited to see him in his new role and see where he takes us in the show. Excited and sad! (I will miss Matt Smith when he leaves.)

lilo and stitch
One of the many uses of Tumblr – finding an image response to anything.

So what are your thoughts, fellow Whovians? Are you happy with the casting? What do you think Peter will bring to the show? Let the discussions, debates and theories begin.

17 thoughts on “Welcome to the Family, Peter Capaldi!

  1. It doesn’t matter who they cast in the role – the show hasn’t ever really been Dr Who since it came back – no amount of clever tinkering with the Doctor’s character can hide the weak stories, flimsy fanboy plots and charmless production of the series post “comeback”. It’s been like as if the Beatles reformed in the ’70’s and played WIngs tunes.

    1. I was not introduced to Doctor Who until a little over a year ago. I was given the 2005 series to start with. I am only just making it through the classic Who now. I have enjoyed all versions of the Doctor I have seen so far.

  2. I haven’t been watching New Who (that is, the Matt Smith seasons onwards since Steven Moffat took over as head writer. I really enjoyed the previous ones with Christopher Eccleston and Billie Piper, but it got too convoluted for me to keep up with) but I’m following the movements of the Whovians. Personally I’m excited to see where this actor takes things, and whether the writing improves along with the new persona. In any case, the best thing so far is the hilarious crossovers between Doctor Who and The Thick of It where he’s swearing profusely at Daleks… and everyone :L

    1. I have enjoyed all the seasons of New Who, though there have been some things in the later seasons I didn’t like – I’m with you – I’m hoping Peter will change things up a bit, bring a different flavor to the show and the writing. I’m sure he will. Haha, the crossovers have been great, and I’m sure they will only continue!

      1. He’s certainly less young, cute and hipstery than Matt Smith’s incarnation, so he should be an interesting foil to Clara (whether that whole ‘impossible girl biggest mystery in the universe women are only interesting when they confuse us’ thing is still going on or not). Either way, it will be good to see how they craft the new quirks.

        I’d also just like to point out that the announcement of the new Doctor made news in AUSTRALIA. It was the story at the very end of the 7 o’clock news, but it still made news. Wow.

      2. Yes, I personally am very interesting to see how he works with Clara. Should be very interesting.

        Made news in Australia?! Wow! That is awesome. Just shows how far Doctor Who has truly spread – it really does belong to everyone. 🙂

      1. The Doctor has plenty of villains, but he is constantly finding and facing new things. This really bitter guy could certainly have a place in the show.

Tell me what you think!

