Mixed Blessings

It’s Friday Fictioneers Time! Didn’t think I was going to find the time to post, but I did! For those of you who don’t know, I’m on a two week vacation to England! I’m traveling with a friend and we a re having a marvelous time. I’ll post all about it when I return home after next week. But until then, enjoy another short story prompted by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields! Enjoy.

copyright-roger-bultot
Copyright – Roger Bultot

Mixed Blessings

Malcolm was secretly delighted when the tree fell on his car. He had always hated the wretched thing – with its finicky fuel gage that always let him run out of fuel with he least expected it, the perpetual low tire on the back left side, a loud muffler and crackly radio. That tree was a blessing.

Of course he put on a disappointed face and raged on about it to satisfy his parents, but behind closed doors he dreamed of new car smell and a smooth ride.

Then came the phrase of doom: “We found you a new car, son!”

19 thoughts on “Mixed Blessings

  1. I’m confused by the “perpetual low tire”. Wouldn’t “perpetually flat” be clearer? Or did you mean something else.

    I can sympathise with Malcolm. I often wished my wife’s old car would explode or something (when we are on the outside), so we would have an excuse to buy something else. Luckily now it’s someone else’s problem.

    Great piece.

    1. Hmm, maybe “perpetually flat” would be more clear…though in my brain I just kept thinking of my mom saying her tires were low. And her van will tell you when the air is low. But that is a good point, thanks for the feedback.

      Haha, I thought many people would be able to sympathize with Malcolm…glad you enjoyed it.

Tell me what you think!

