The Mysterious Stonehenge

stonehenge
Behold, Stonehenge.

It was overcast and a bit windy the day Jeneane and I went to Stonehenge. We took a special tour bus, which ensured we were able to skip the incredibly long queue of people waiting to get in and see this World Heritage site. We were there for about two hours, and some of those people were still waiting when we left. Amazing that so many people came to see a set of old, moss-covered rocks.

But that’s just it, isn’t it? Stonehenge isn’t just a set of moss-covered rocks arranged in a circular pattern. It was first built around 2,500 B.C. and ever since then has held a certain fascination for people all over the world. The most intriguing part of Stonehenge is the perpetual mystery that surrounds it. Though there are many theories; historians, scientists and conspiracy theorists still don’t know the true purpose of the stones.

stonehenge stones

We were given audio tours to take with us as we walked around the perimeter (we weren’t allowed to go inside the circle or touch the stones) which gave us a brief history of the stones, the ongoing research on them, and my favorite part, the myths and stories surrounding them.

The myths and stories tell of many people constructing the stones – Merlin, the Devil, the Druids, even aliens. My particular favorite was the story of how the Devil got them. He saw the stones in an Irish woman’s garden and wanted them for himself. When she refused to sell them to him, he made a bargain – handing over a large bag of gold, he told her she could have as many pieces as she could count while he moved the stones. Thinking it would take him ages to move them, the woman agreed. The Devil then transported the stones to their new home on Salisbury Plain instantly, before the woman had a chance to count even one coin. (Moral of the story: Don’t make deals with the Devil).

Not only are there stories about how the stones got there, but their true purpose remains a question for myths and theories to explain. Is it an astronomical calendar? A temple? A message from aliens or a portal to another dimension? Maybe it was a meeting place for Celtic tribes. It is a question scientists and historians are still trying to answer.

stonehengeIt was amazing to see. A bit surreal too, since I was still adjusting to the fact that I was actually in England. It really did take a while for that to sink in. Stonehenge was a good place to think too. From every angle you could turn and see Salisbury Plain stretching out before you, open to the sky and relatively free of any kind of buildings. It was fun just to sit in the grass, watch the stones and imagine an ancient procession occurring, or maybe an alien departure…needless to say I jotted down some notes in my little red journal.

So what do you think? Anything magical or alien about Stonehenge? Or is it just some strange sort of temple built by ancient peoples? Would you want to visit and see for yourself?

Don’t forget to vote in my Story Time poll to decide which Friday Fictioneers story I expand, and keep watching for more posts on my adventures in England. Coming up we have Jane Austen’s Bath and my escapade with the Doctor in Cardiff!

 

29 thoughts on “The Mysterious Stonehenge

    1. Nope – nobody was allowed inside the circle.I suppose it was easier this way – kept things less crowded so everyone could see them. Yeah the myths were awesome. I could have written about more.

      1. If I ever go there, I will just overpower the weak tour guide and the two security guards and take it over! I’ll send you an email through the evil network when I do.

      2. There weren’t any tour guides actually…there was nothing but the threat of being thrown out to stop me from running into the circle. I’ll keep an eye out for that email though…

  1. Great pictures, it’s a beautiful part of the country. I think the worry is that if they let people go into the circle, they’d walk on the stones and wear them down etc. But it didn’t stop them filming an episode of Doctor Who there!

    1. Thank you. It really was lovely. Yeah, and with so much wear one them it could get dangerous (what if one the stone fell over?) I didn’t really mind not getting to go inside. Yes I know. I’m curious how they did that now…Merlin also has an episode here…

  2. Stonehenge is pretty cool!
    I went there on a school trip, I think we were allowed within the circle but that was decades ago! They stopped it because, obviously, everyone wanted to touch the stones and they were getting damaged.

    1. It really was. Cool. I imagine at one point they had o have let people in – but as you said, they had to stop because people were damaging the stones. I liked it better the way they had it. I don’t think it would have been as enjoyable if there were hundreds of people milling about inside them. This way, everyone could stand back and see them and enjoy them.

  3. I watched a tv show on Stonehenge Origination theories last week. It centered on it being a place that ancient people felt a religious or special connection-the way the sun shines through certain portals at each solstice and such. I tend to go along with the theory the program suggested-that Stonehenge had a special meaning to ancient people.

    You are so fortunate to have gotten to take such a trip. I doubt if i ever will, but it is wonderful to read about the experiences of those who have. best wishes, beebeesworld. I will now check out your story time poll!

    1. Stonehenge is one of those mysteries I hope we never solve. I believe it was religiously special to ancient people, but I don’t think I want to know the true purpose behind it. That mystery is part of what keeps it so fascinating, I think.

      Thank you! I feel very blessed to have been able to go. Thanks again for reading. 🙂

Tell me what you think!

