Biggest Mistake

Welcome to my favorite part of the week: Friday Fictioneers! This week our leader Rochelle has given us a very intriguing photo prompt! Check out my response below.

doors
Copyright: Rich Voza.

Biggest mistake

“Why did you bring me here?” Amelia winced as she picked herself up from the ground.

The Trickster grinned. “I didn’t, dearie. You did.”

“Don’t play games with me! We had a deal. Take me where I asked.”

Trickster giggled. “I did, dearie. You asked to change your biggest mistake, and here we are.”

Amelia looked stricken. “But this isn’t right! It was supposed to be…” she trailed off. “Take me back.”

Trickster giggled again. “No can do, dearie. The only way back is to make a choice.” He gestured gleefully towards three doors in the field ahead. “Choose wisely.”

39 thoughts on “Biggest Mistake

    1. Thank you! Again, I always imagine more than I tell in the hundred words. It is conceivable that I will write more for any one of these stories. It just depends…
      I’m thinking Amelia is more of a hood and cloak kind of girl inside of a hat.

    1. Hehehehehe you might have discovered my newest obsession. Trickster prefers that no one knows his name. Names are dangerous…
      You know I started watching OUAT when it first started, then I missed a couple episodes for various reasons and just never got caught up. Well now I’m burning through the seasons to get ready for season 3!! LOVE this show.
      P.S. Thank you. 🙂

  1. Well done, Tiffany. I wonder what she’ll choose. The trickster seems a little sinister and is not offering much guidance. Mistakes are perhaps meant to be made and can’t be undone. That’s what I thought at the end.

    1. I don’t know yet what she’ll choose, or even what the mistake was. Yes, the Trickster was definitely not doing that out of the goodness of his heart. It’s a good thought. I think Amelia will learn that before the end of her story…
      Thanks for reading!

  2. Ooh. I definitely got the OUAT vibe too. I have to say he is one of my favorite characters and I could totally see him doing something like this. Magic always comes with a price, dearie!!

    Great story!

    1. Thank you! I like characters like the Trickster. You can’t call them all bad or all good. They are a chaotic neutral – cursing characters with their own wishes. I’m glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading!

  3. Makes me wonder why Amelia made a deal with the Trickster — this sounds like a tough way to do things! I like this confusion of being in the middle of the story, of not knowing what happened before and wondering what door she’ll choose and what will happen then.

    1. Amelia wanted to change something in her life, something that could only be changed through magic. But I think she ended up in the wrong place – she should have been more specific. Better yet, she shouldn’t have made the deal at all. Mistakes make us who we are, and we all have to learn to live with what we’ve done. Looks like Amelia forgot this…
      Thanks for reading! I’m glad you enjoyed it. 🙂

  4. How can one choose wisely when all they have to go on is the color of a door? Trickster is a tricky one, indeed. I think he may enjoy torturing others. The wise choice would have been to not make a deal with him at all.

    1. That is a good question. I think Amelia would instinctively know which door is which when she went to choose – the Trickster brought her to a memory – to the moment when she made what she believes in her heart to be her biggest mistake. The doors are the three choices she could make – she could choose a different option and change her life, or she could leave things the way they were.
      It definitely would have been wiser had she not made a deal with him at all. Trickster is only out for his own ends, under the illusion of helping others. And all magic comes with a price. Amelia will have to learn this.
      Thanks for reading!

    1. Thank you! I think the life and death route is an interesting take on it too – what is the third option behind those doors? It makes you think too. I’m glad you enjoyed the story. Thanks for reading!

      1. Haha I know what you mean! I’ve been pretty good about waiting until Friday…gives me something to look forward too! 😀 (besides the weekend, haha!)

Tell me what you think!

