Spare Parts

Happy Friday, dear readers! Welcome to Friday Fictioneers. This week we have another unique photo prompt provided by the lovely Rochelle, who celebrates one year of hosting Friday Fictioneers today. Congratulations Rochelle, and thank you for providing weekly inspiration to so many talented writers.

Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.
Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields.

Spare Parts

Bill slammed the list down on the counter in front of the petite woman in coveralls. She paused in her tinkering with the dismantled keyboard and looked up. “Nice to see you too, Bill.”

“Just get me what’s on the list, Mags.”

She peered around him, where a hulking creature stood just outside the door.

“Is this one all robot, or is it another one of your cyborgs?”

“The list, Mags,” Bill growled.

“Manners, Bill,” she scolded. “I’m the only one who can get you what you need.”

Bill grunted. She handed him his items.

“A pleasure as always, Bill.”

44 thoughts on “Spare Parts

  1. Sounds like Bill has been spending too much time around his creations, judging by his people skills (or lack thereof)!
    Nice piece of dialogue. I love it when you have one kind, friendly person and in contrast one gruff person (but deep down you know they’re actually really fond of each other) 🙂

    1. I would say he does spend a little too much time with his machines, but that doesn’t seem to stop Mags! These two were fun to write – I think they’ve got a good relationship going. I imagine Bill would be even more rough and gruff without Mags to smile at him. 🙂

  2. Dear Tiffany,

    ‘Get you want you need’? Doubtless others have clued you in to this medium typo. If so, forgive me for piling on.

    Realistic characters grace your tale.

    Aloha,

    Doug

    1. I think they’re already in love. But it’s one of those unspoken things – because Bill is too tough and gruff to admit it, and Mags knows he doesn’t like that mushy stuff. But she still knows how to get through to him. 🙂

  3. I really admire how you manage to convey so much depth with so few words, even with such a short exchange we can tell so much about the history between those characters, and I can imaging the world they inhabit so vividly already haha 🙂

    Well done!

    Rohan.

    1. Thank Rohan. I really enjoyed writing this one, and I think it is one of my best ones (or maybe that’s just because I love these characters so much.) 😀 I’m glad you liked it.

      Thanks for reading!

Tell me what you think!

