The Devil’s Smile

Happy Friday, my readers! Hope everyone had a good week, and to those of you who are participating in NaNoWriMo, I hope things are going well! I have done well this first week, with just over 17K words. Let’s hope I can keep it up!

The results are in! The story that won the November Story Time poll is…Something New! I will extend the story and post it by the end of this month.

Now it’s time for best part of the week: Friday Fictioneers. As always, a very special thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields for providing us with a prompt. Enjoy!

*A note about this Friday Fictioneers story: Lord Carrington is a villain that’s been lurking in the corners of my mind for some time now. Here you’ll only get a brief glimpse of him, but one day, you may see him return in full in a story of his own.

al_forbes
Copyright: Al Forbes.

The Devil’s SMILE

Lord Carrington had the Devil’s smile.

That’s what Mama always said. He smiled and spoke pretty words to Mama, making her giggle. I’d never seen her behave that way before.

I didn’t like the way he looked at me. He had a smile and pretty words for me too, but his smile didn’t reach his eyes and his words were empty. I hid from them behind Mama’s skirts.

He had a son, blessed with his father’s charm. During our visits I heard the word “betrothal” being said between our parents. The son smiled at me then, just like the Devil.

37 thoughts on “The Devil’s Smile

  1. My warped mind added “in a jar” to the end of your first sentence and I thought to myself what an awesome story that would make. Cutting off the devil’s lips and keeping them in a jar as a trophy of sorts.

    Anyway, on to comments about the actual story that was presented. Sounds like the poor girl is in for some troubled times ahead. I look forward to hearing more about Lord Carrington.

    1. You know, Adam, that would make for one twisted story. I think Lord Carrington and his son have more than the Devil’s smile…I look forward to fleshing them out more.

      And yes. Sarah (as I believe the little girl is called) has trouble times ahead of her. Her world is full of powerful and dangerous men, her own father included.

    1. Yes, I’m not fond of him either. I think you either fall for his charm (which is hard to see here through the mistrustful girl’s eyes) or you don’t trust him, as the girl does. Thank you, I do. Good luck to you as well!

    1. Oh no, the father would never allow it. In fact, I think if anyone is getting murdered, it will be the father, Lord Carrington. I think he son is much, much worse than him.

      Thanks for reading, I’m glad you liked it!

    1. Thank you! I would really like to move forward with this one. I have the bare bones of a story for these characters brewing in my head. I hope I can work on it soon. Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Dear Tiffany,

    I loved how the circle came full turn and the yet the girl still recognized the Devil. very well done. lord Carrington’s apple didn’t fall far from the tree.

    Aloha,

    Doug

  3. Oh, I loved that description of “the Devil’s smile”. Obviously, it enchanted the mother when she was it its glow, but she was wise enough to describe it for her daughter. Too bad, she couldn’t break the spell.

  4. Very nice, this feels like chapter one of an intriguing novel. The characters of Lord Carrington and the son arrive perfectly formed in these few words.
    I love the phrase “blessed with his father’s charms” – full of irony and forboding.

  5. Congrats on the big first week of writing — 17K is fantastic! Also, great story with Lord Carrington and that smile of his (and his son’s). I thought it was really intriguing that the narrator and Mama had different reactions to that smile, of Mama’s giggle and the narrator’s more cautious approach of realizing the smile didn’t reach his eyes (a wonderful description). Great story — and a great beginning to a story, too.

Tell me what you think!

