Quoting the Quill #8

Hello there, readers. It’s been a while since I did one of these, so I thought it was time to bring them back. Here’s the quote that has me thinking today:

“It is a very funny thing that the sleepier you are, the longer you take about getting to bed.” 
― C.S. LewisThe Silver Chair

Via Pinterest.
Via Pinterest.

C.S. Lewis has many excellent quotes. I read quite a few before I decided on this one, but I knew the moment I finished this quote it was the one I had to use, because I was thinking the very same thing this morning.

Since it has been getting darker earlier (as it is wont to do in the wintertime) I find myself feeling sleepier every night. I tell myself that I am going to go to bed early (or rather, on time) but every night I end up staying awake until I simply cannot keep my eyes open one second longer. It is as though I am trying to accomplish a week’s worth of tasks in one night, or that I’m afraid if I fall asleep too quickly I might miss out on something good. The latter is the reason kids always want to stay up past their bedtime. It is because they are convinced their parents are doing something fun without them, so they stay up until they fall asleep sitting up in their chair. The truth is though, that parents rarely do anything a child would deem “fun” after bedtime, so it is better that they fall asleep. Apparently I have forgotten this.

All this talk about sleep has made me want a nap. Unfortunately, I have far too much work to do, so I will just have to wait until tonight, when I can’t keep my eyes open one second longer.

See you Friday, dear readers.

***

Quoting the Quill is meme created by Becky at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic, which is posted every other Wednesday.  If you’d like to find out more or join in the fun, check out the details here.

10 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #8

  1. This is so true. I mean, I usually start getting sleepy an hour or so after getting up, and then I only manage to go to bed late at night. I’ll have to give this some thought…

  2. I tend to sleep less and less and get up earlier and earlier as the week progresses as I’m excited at the impending weekend!
    Friday tomorrow woo woo nearly there 🙂

  3. Yes, this has made me sleepy just reading it! And the little girl in the photo tripped me out because that’s what I looked like when I was younger… I definitely would not have been spooning those (kind of creepy looking if we’re honest) dolls though.

    You’re on to something though– I do the same thing! Sleepy by 6PM but up until 1AM? How does that even make sense?!

    1. I know, right? Haha that’s crazy. I don’t blame you…those dolls are freaky!

      Exactly! As soon as it gets dark I feel like I’m ready for bed, yet I continue to stay up late! At least I don’t have trouble getting up in the morning.

Tell me what you think!

