Lingering

Hello and Happy Friday, dear readers! I hope you’ve all had a marvelous week. It’s been a short week for me – I only had to work two days! Hooray for the holidays.

Also, before we get started, I’ve had a request to remind everyone: If you like reading my Friday Fictioneers and other weekly posts, you can have them delivered directly to your inbox by subscribing to my blog! Just punch in your email in the little box at the top left of my blog (under the banner) and hit “Follow!” You’ll be sent  confirmation email. Just follow the instructions in the email and then you will start getting my posts. Easy as that!

Subscribe

Now it’s time for the best part of the week…Friday Fictioneers! My thanks, as usual, to Rochelle for providing us with an interesting prompt. See my take on it below! I could have easily made this one longer…hope I was still able to convey everything going on in my brain in just 100 words.

copyright-ted-strutz
Copyright Ted Strutz.

Lingering

Verity surveyed the empty diner as she sipped her scalding coffee. It was completely clean, no sign of the violent struggle from the night before. If she left now, it would be like she’d never been there. A bitter taste rose up in her mouth that had nothing to do with her black coffee.

“You’re lingering,” said a smooth voice behind her. “Thought that was one of your rules?”

“Never linger,” she said, beating him to the punch. “What brings you here, Agent Mirran?”

“Gulliver was a good agent.”

“He was more than an agent, Mirran. He was a friend.”

11 thoughts on “Lingering

  1. I like the bitterness not having anything to do with the coffee – sets the scene for her state of mind. I also love the great names you always choose for your characters 🙂

Tell me what you think!

