Quoting the Quill #9

Happy Wednesday, dear readers. I want you to know that I will be posting November’s story time very soon. I just need a little more time to finish writing it.

In the meantime, here is another Quoting the Quill post. Today’s quote is about forgiveness, something I feel is important in living a happy, fulfilling life.

forgive yourself
Via bird-of-hope on Tumblr.

“The only way out of the labyrinth of suffering is to forgive.” 
― John GreenLooking for Alaska

Nothing could be more true. In situations of conflict or wrongdoing by yourself or others, I have come to find there are two options: You can go on holding that grudge or punishing yourself, or you can forgive yourself or whoever wronged you. If you choose the first option, that guilt and anger will weigh you down everyday. It won’t get any better. It will fester and grow until it has poisoned every part of your life.

The second option is harder, but in the end, more fulfilling. If you can bring yourself to let go of that guilt and that anger, things will get better. I personally find it easy to forgive others, but when it comes to myself, I will carry that guilt until I can hardly stand it before I can forgive myself. I’m not sure why that is, but I find it infinitely harder to forgive myself for mistakes or wrongdoings. Maybe it’s because I know I should have known better. One thing is certain though. If you can bring yourself to forgive, things will improve. It might not be immediate, but in the end, you will be better for it.

As John Green said, forgiveness is the way out of the labyrinth of suffering. Forgiveness is the string we all carry with us in this maze we’re stumbling through, if only we can remember to let it down to guide us out.

***

Quoting the Quill is meme created by Becky at Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic, which is posted every other Wednesday.  If you’d like to find out more or join in the fun, check out the details here.

11 thoughts on “Quoting the Quill #9

  1. The idea of self forgiveness is preposterous – “I’ve shot your mom, stolen your car, slept with your wife, burned down your house. But good news, I’ve forgiven myself.” You have to be really self-centered an/or extremely delusional to buy into that concept. I know I’ve never personally wronged myself. I’ve done wrong and it’s backfired on me but I’ve never done anything with the actual intention of causing harm to myself (when that happened it was purely by accident as my true intent was to create something positive for myself, generally at someone else’s expense). Guilt is your mind’s way of telling you that you’ve done bad. The way to get rid of it is to right what you’ve wronged to the best of your ability.

    1. Thank you for stopping by and commenting.
      I don’t think self-forgiveness is delusional – perhaps I should phrase it differently. I don’t think it is so much saying “By the way, I’ve just done something horrible, but it’s okay, because I’ve forgiven myself for it.” Rather, I think it is truly admitting your guilt to yourself and accepting that even if it was meant to end well, it turned out wrong. It is the first step to righting the wrong – because how can you fix it if you won’t admit to yourself you messed up?

      1. That’s not what you are saying above and your post comes across as very arrogant and dismissive of others (after all your guilt has made you the real victim when you’ve done them wrong).

      2. Ah. Well, it’s what I meant. But we don’t always say things the right way, I suppose. And you’re right. Guilt hurts us more than it hurt others. (If you feel guilt, that is.) Again, thank for your input. I gratefully accept your constructive criticism.

Tell me what you think!

