Blue Christmas

Happy Friday everyone! Only 5 more days til Christmas! Who is excited? I know I am. But I’m also excited for Friday Fictioneers, which is one of the best parts of my week. This little writing exercise always lifts my spirits, even when nothing else does. Thank you, as always, to Rochelle for providing the weekly prompt!

Copyright: Jean L. Hays
Copyright: Jean L. Hays

Blue Christmas

She studied the sun catcher in her kitchen window, lost in thought. Dull light shimmered as it passed through the colored glass.

Blue, like his eyes. The ones that crinkled when he smiled and looked at her like no one had ever looked at her before.

Grey, like the suits he favored when they went out.

Blue, like the way she was feeling after last night’s fight.

Grey, like the rain clouds outside, full to bursting. The steady downpour matched her spirits.

Behind her the Christmas tree sat unlit in her livingroom, and “Blue Christmas” played softly on the radio.

26 thoughts on “Blue Christmas

      1. Thanks. The hug helped. πŸ™‚ It is hard to deal with, but I think making it through this can only make me stronger and our relationship stronger, if we handle it correctly.

      2. That’s generally how it goes… change is hard. I just posted a new piece on my blog that is about that process of letting go and moving on… forgiveness and forgetting. It’s a long journey. Wishes for peace and clarity as you go along. xo

  1. I started belting out “Blue Christmas” Elvis style before I even read the story. I’m sure her boyfriend will return and this time he’ll be singing “All I Want for Christmas is You.”

  2. Great use of the colours in this prompt! There will not be a sad ending! I predict that after 30 years or so, when they’ve had all the variations of quarrel possible, they’ll look at this dingly dangly and laugh together at the silliness of this one! I recall quarreling with my husband late one stormy night. He ‘stormed’ off, got in the car, drove for an hour and a half through driving rain and lightning to our house (we had a small apartment as well, in those days). He got into bed, saw a ghost at the bottom of it and drove straight back to me! Our marriage – saved by a ghost! Happy Christmas! πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! I don’t think it will be a sad ending either. In fact, I think recovery s just around the corner for this couple! You’re right too, about all couples having all variations of quarrels, but by the time they’ve been together 30 years, this one squabble will be nothing but silliness.
      Oh my, what I fight! The ghost was a sign – you two were meant to be together, he just needed a little reminder. Thanks for sharing! πŸ™‚

Tell me what you think!

