Welcome 2014!

Happy New Year’s everyone! I wish you all the best. Can you believe a new year has arrived?

2014
Via Pinterest.

How time flies…

Looking back, 2013 was a good year for me. It wasn’t without its struggles, but for every serious low there was an equally glorious high. Back on December 31st, 2012, I posted So long 2012…hello 2013, in which I talked about my goals for the coming year.

I had three things I wanted to accomplish:

1. Go to Europe. And I did! This past August I spent two amazing, life-changing weeks in England. I had the time of my life, and I hope I can visit again someday.

2. Get my novel into publishable state. This one I did not accomplish, however I have written more this past year than I ever have before, so that’s got to count for something.

3. Open myself up for love. At the beginning of 2013, I was rather scared of relationships. I wasn’t sure I was ready for one or if I could find someone I was willing to take the risk of being hurt with. But I followed my sister’s advice and allowed myself to take that risk and I have never been happier about a decision I’ve made. It’s opened me up to a world of possibilities and the most wonderful feelings imaginable.

So of my three goals for last year, I’d say I did pretty well. Two out of three ain’t bad, right?

goals
Via Pinterest.

Now that’s it’s a new year, it’s time for some new goals. So this year, this is what I want to accomplish:

1. I want to write more letters. Writing letters is a dying form of communication, but I feel like it is so much more personal and so much easier to keep and hold on to. Text messages, IMs, and emails can be written and gone without so much as a thought, but letters take time to craft and are something tangible to to keep and read over and over. Plus, who doesn’t like getting mail?

2. I want to expand my blog. Last year I had the goal of posting twice a week, and I did pretty good at keeping up with that. Every Friday I post a short story in Friday Fictioneers, every other Wednesday (when I remember to do it) I post a quote, and any other time I write about what’s going on in my life. This year I want to write more, share more art and be more involved with blogging in general. I’ve got a few ideas on how to implement that, but I don’t want to give everything away just yet!

3. I want to draw more. I truly enjoy drawing and art, but I don’t often make myself sit down and practice. To do this, I am going to try to post a sketch a week on my blog – that way I can accomplish two goals at once (see previous goal). I’d also like to look into take a class or two this year – in drawing, sculpture, animation, whatever. Just so long as I’m doing some art on a weekly basis.

4. I want to read the Bible. I am a religious person. My faith is important to me. Yet somehow, I’ve never read the book that plays such a big part in my faith. I’ve read excerpts, of course, but never all the way through. I’d like to tackle that task this year, and hopefully gain some fresh perspective doing so.

That’s it! Four new goals for myself, and a year to accomplish them. Wish me luck!

stick to it
Via Pinterest.

What about you? Do you have any goals or resolutions for 2014? Any big plans for the coming year?

20 thoughts on “Welcome 2014!

  1. Reading the Bible is a great thing. I try to do it every day, even though I miss a day sometimes. I have The Living Bible. The language is so plain and down to Earth.

    Happy New Year!

    1. I’ve read bits and pieces, and I’ve read kid’s Bibles…but not the real thing. I’m looking forward to tackling it this year!

      Thank you! Happy New Year to you as well!

  2. Regarding goal number 1, watch my blog next week. You might be just the person to help me with a new project I’m planning.

    Regarding number 4, the NIV student Bible contains a very nice reading plan which helps you to read the entire Bible in either one or three years. It’s just less intimidating if you break it up into smaller chunks.

    Good luck with these goals. I’m sure you’ll be able to achieve them.

    1. Oh, I’m intrigued! I can’t wait!

      Hmm. I’ll have to look into that. I know reading the entire Bible in a year might be too big of project, but if I at least get started on it I will be happy.

      Thank you!

  3. Haha okay– amazingly, you are like the only person I’ve read who looked at all of their past goals and talked about whether they hit them or not. Kudos– and huzzah! to the fact that you nailed some of them. I shared the same #2 and #3 as you– failed at #2, nailed #3 so I’m 50/50 for this year. Will try again next year 😉

    Your goals for this year look awesome– particularly the letter writing. That’s brilliant.

    1. Haha, how strange! I liked looking back – it gave me a sense of accomplishment. Thank you! Glad to hear you accomplished some of your goals too. Good luck to both of us on tackling our goals for this year!

      Thank you – I’m most excited about the letter writing goal, I think. I’ve already written and sent my first one of the year! I’m looking forward to writing more.

  4. I like how you looked back at your goals in the past year before looking ahead and making new goals. It’s certainly a good time for taking stock like that. Your four goals for the new year sound great, and I’m looking forward to seeing your sketches. Best wishes and best of luck with your goals this year!

    1. It was interesting – and I was curious to see how I did over the past year. I was pretty pleased! It gave me the motivation to get started on my goals for this year. Thank you!

  5. Good luck with your new goals and well done for accomplishing so much of last year’s!
    I don’t set myself goals or resolutions as I’ll feel guilty about not keeping them 😦
    Happy 2014!

    1. Thank you! I’m not always the best at keeping my resolutions either, but I’m hoping by posting them it will help me be held accountable to keep them! Seemed to work last year. Happy 2014 to you too!

  6. I don’t really set yearly goals for myself. I set goals for myself, but don’t usually give them a deadline. I’ll finish when I finish and I’m alright with that. Good luck with accomplishing your goals though, whether it be on time or belated.

    1. I still set goals without deadlines, but I find I work better when I have a deadline for them – though sometimes just the attempt to accomplish them is enough for me. I never know what I’ll discover along the way. Thank you!

Tell me what you think!

