The Runaways

Friday is finally here! And you know what that means, readers: Friday Fictioneers! A special thank you to Rochelle for providing the prompt. Enjoy the story!

copyright-erin-leary
Copyright: Erin Leary.

The RunAways

“Joss, look! It’s the sun!”

“Anna get back here! Stay off the road.” Joss grabbed his baby sister by the arm and pulled her back into the ditch. “Remember what I told you?”

Anna tossed her head, sending her braids flying. “Stay off the roads. Don’t talk too loud. Never talk to strangers.”

“And why is all this important?”

Anna took a deep breath before reciting: “Because the Snatchers will find us. We’ll be separated and put into the work houses or worse.” Joss nodded, satisfied.

“You’re a good girl.”

Anna stuck out her tongue. “And you’re bossy, big brother.”

39 thoughts on “The Runaways

  1. It captures a moment in time beautiful. I’m assuming that Joss and Anna are playing, and it reminds me of my relationship with my sister when we were growing up. I may have missed something but I really liked it.

    1. Thank you. Yes, they could just be playing…or they could be in a dystopian world where they really do have to run away and be on their own. Either way, their relationship as brother and sister is the focus. ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks for stopping by!

  2. Ooh, I’m out of step on this one. I thought it was incredibly dark and really frightening, with Anna being too young to understand the dangers and poor Joss having to take on all the responsibility. (Maybe I need to stop reading so many horror stories…) Very atmospheric!

    1. You know…you might not be that off. My readers seem to be split down the middle as to whether this is a dark, dystopian story or two children at play. Which would you rather read? I have a feeling I may be seeing this story again when it comes time for January Story Time…
      Thanks for stopping by!

  3. I remember a story when I was little about these kids living on their own in a boxcar, I think. It fascinated me then as your teaser does. Excellent and thank God for the bossy brother! Thanks, Nan

Tell me what you think!

