Secret Project

Yay! Friday is finally here, which means it is once again time for Friday Fictioneers! Many thanks to our host, Rochelle, who always provides such interesting prompts. I didn’t mean for today’s story to have such a melancholy tone to it, but it just happened. Enjoy it anyway!

claire fuller 2
Copyright: Claire Fuller

Secret Project

“Want to meet me for lunch?” I asked my husband of two years.

“Can’t. Working,” he replied shortly. I hung up the phone. All he’s done for months is spent time out in that dirty garage.

“Want to watch a movie tonight?”

He shook his head. “I’m finishing a project.”

“Alvero’s has a dinner special this week,” I started, but stopped when I saw the look on his face.

Tonight he led me blindfolded to that damned garage. Inside was a hand crafted set of table and chairs, laid out with a candlelight dinner. “Happy anniversary,” he whispered.

I cried.

8 thoughts on “Secret Project

  1. I didn’t think it had a melancholy tone, I thought it was sweet and lovely!

    Of course, once could ponder why she cried at the end – tears of joy (“what a wonderful gesture!”), tears of relief (“he still loves me after all!”) or tears of guilt (“looks like he does love me, I probably shouldn’t have given up on him and had that affair”).

    Excuse me while I continue writing the story in my head 🙂 . Well done for making me think!

    1. Aw, thank you! 🙂

      Well that is the mystery, isn’t it? I am inclined to believe they were tears of joy…or perhaps from overwhelming feelings. I think she really missed her husband and it felt like he was neglecting her. But really, he loved her all along. 🙂

      You’re very welcome! Glad I wrote such a thought provoking story!

Tell me what you think!

