Thanks, Got It At A Yard Sale

Happy Friday, readers! It’s time again for Friday Fictioneers, were bloggers from all over the world follow the example of our fearless leader, Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, and write a 100 word story based on a photo prompt. Today’s photo is credited to Dawn M. Miller.

Enjoy the story!

photo by dawn miller
Copyright: Dawn M. Miller

Thanks, Got It At A Yard Sale

“Damn it, Mother, why are we stopping here? This stuff is nothing but junk.” Joanie scoffed as she surveyed the tables lining the driveway of a little yellow house.

“Nonsense,” said her mother. She was already making her way along the first of the tables.

“Grandma! Look at this!” exclaimed a small boy, flying past his mother to run up the drive.

“That is a typewriter, Langston. They used to use those when I was a little girl.”

“It’s junk, Langston. Don’t touch it. Honestly Mother, when I said I’d take you out, I hardly meant to go yard saling.

32 thoughts on “Thanks, Got It At A Yard Sale

  1. What a crappy mother Langston has. I used to have fun banging away at a typewriter. Not to write, mind you, just to bang away and hear the noises and then push the carriage back across. That was the best part.

    1. He really does. I’m not sure why she’s so rude. Haha I totally know the feeling. We had an old typewriter when I was little too, and the noise it makes it definitely the best part!

  2. I agree, Langston’s Mom is tightly wound. I learned to type on one of those typewriters too and thought it was amazing when I used an electric one…boy I’m old… Thanks for the memories!

  3. Nasty mother! She’s not getting into the spirit of it, is she?
    When I was at school we had a room full of type writers. I never got to use one, though, it was only girls who did typing 🙂 showing my age here! Then a couple of years later they were replaced by these new things called “computers” and now, of course, all the boys wanted in!

    1. No, she most definitely isn’t. She was a bit annoying to write.
      Haha, really? Only the girls were the typists? How sexist. :p Ah yes. With the computers, of course the boys wanted in!
      Thanks for reading.

  4. Our younger daughter wanted to use a typewriter for awhile so we still have one (maybe two.) I read years ago that when secretaries switched from manual typewriters to electric, all other factors being equal, they gained weight. That tells you how much more effort was required for typewriters!

    janet

    1. That’s crazy! Hmm, maybe they should consider going back to typewriters then, haha! My dentist’s secretary still uses one. It is a novelty to see every time I visit.
      Thanks for reading!

  5. Langston hopefully grows up nicer than his mother. I learned to type on an old manual typewriter. I have one my grandchildren play on and they love it – the tap, tap of the keys fascinates them. Good story! Nan

  6. Dear Tiffany,

    Sharp dialogue that made me want to cram something in Joanie’s mouth. She obviously didn’t have her mother’s best interest at heart. Stay in the car, Mom. Let Langston enjoy the sale with his grandma.

    See, you got my dander up. The mark of a good story.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

    1. Rochelle,
      I wanted to do the same thing when I was writing it! Thank you for the compliments. I always like stories that bring up emotions (good or bad) too.

      Thanks for reading!

  7. A T-Y-P-E-W-R-I-T-E-R
    If only i got one of those at a yard sale!

    Poor Langston..having that mother of his everywhere he goes!
    I can so relate to the child’s curiosity…I hope he had a fine day at the yard sale with his Granny!

    Stay out mom! You wont get it!

    1. My mom took me and my siblings yard saling all the time when we were little. I loved it. Sometimes I think it would be cool to use a real typewriter for some of my stories, but I would probably make too many spelling errors!

Tell me what you think!

