Can I Call You Angel?

Happy Friday, dear readers! I know I have been absent this past week – it’s been a super busy week for me! I promise to get back to my regular blogging schedule next week, once I’ve finally caught up on some things. But right now it’s time for Friday Fictioneers! Thank you to Rochelle for providing the prompt and to Sandra Crook for providing the photo. Enjoy the story!

Copyright: Sandra Crook
Copyright: Sandra Crook

Can I Call You Angel?

I found her in a provincial town in the south of France.

She was sitting on the counter of a little farmer’s market, her bare feet tucked underneath her, eating a green bell pepper like an apple. When she saw me she gave me a dazzling smile that hit me like a punch to the gut.

“Bonjour,” she said, jumping down from the counter.

“Bon-hi,” I managed to say. She giggled.

“Engleesh?” she questioned. I nodded. “I am Angeline,” she said, in heavily accented English.

I stared at her for a full minute before blurting, “Can I call you Angel?”

33 thoughts on “Can I Call You Angel?

  1. I love it Tiffany!

    Have a great weekend and stay warm. I think we might be calling our respective states – chilled and frozen at the beginning of this coming week!

    Regards

    Jim

Tell me what you think!

