Death Wears Cheap Leather

It’s Friday! It’s finally here! And that means it is once again time for Friday Fictioneers. Today’s photo prompt is provided by our very own Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who is the leader of our merry band of writers.

Interested in reading some other Fictioneer entries? Check them out here.

Enjoy today’s story!

Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields
Copyright: Rochelle Wisoff-Fields

Death Wears Cheap Leather

If there were worse places to bleed to death, Lilah couldn’t think of any.

She lay on the dirty floor of an elevator, her hand pressed against the oozing bullet wound in her stomach.

I should have waited for backup, she thought dully. Black spots floated across her vision.

At least I took him with me. Lilah strained to see the body across from hers in the elevator. Sylvester Witherson wouldn’t be trafficking anymore women. She sighed and waited for the end.

When Death’s form finally appeared in the elevator, Lilah laughed. Death looked an awful lot like a prostitute.

30 thoughts on “Death Wears Cheap Leather

  1. It leaves me wondering if Death wears garb appropriate to the location, or if it really was a prostitute (and maybe Lilah will be OK). Or maybe Death moves with the times, sartorially speaking!
    Your title would be perfect for a 1950’s detective novel πŸ™‚

    1. You’re right – there are so many ways to take this ending – maybe one of the prostitutes arrived in time to help, or maybe she only got there in time for Lilah’s last moments. Or maybe death does move with the times…it’s something to think about. πŸ™‚ I think I would like to expand this one.

    1. I think so too. And maybe it really was a prostitute she saw…one of the women she saved, so arrived in time to help, or maybe just hold her hand. Thanks for reading, I’m glad you enjoyed it. πŸ™‚

    1. It was my favorite to write. I had fun with this one. I like the open-endedness of this story…I’d like to think one of the prostitutes that Lilah liberated found her and helped her in time, or maybe she just held her hand in the last moments. I think there is a lot of ways to go with this.

Tell me what you think!

