Third Time’s Not A Charm

Happy Friday readers! I mean…Saturday! Honestly, I swear I’m going to get back on time with these…but until then, here’s this week’s Friday Fictioneers! We’ve got an interesting prompt this week from Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Thanks to Sandra Crook for the photo. Enjoy the story!

Copyright: Sandra Crook
Copyright: Sandra Crook

Third Time’s Not A Charm

“You should have stopped and asked for directions,” Felicia said crossly in the front seat of their rental car.

“I have GPS. I don’t need directions,” her husband replied smartly.

“So I suppose this dirt road is just a detour?”

“A scenic route.”

Felicia snorted. “Right.”

“Come on Sweetheart, this is what you’re supposed to do on vacations. Get lost. Explore!” He put a hand on her knee. “Besides, there’s no one I’d rather get lost with than you.”

She whacked him with her empty water bottle. “That would be charming, if it wasn’t the third time you’ve said it.”

20 thoughts on “Third Time’s Not A Charm

  1. Hey Tiffany!

    This Friday Fictioneer post reminds me of an unforgettable vacation many years ago with my wife when everything went wrong!

    Now 26 years later, we laugh about it!

    Regards

    Jim

    1. Hey Jim! Sorry for my long absence. Glad you liked the story! Experiences like these are never fun when they’re happening, but are great to laugh over later!

      Cheers,
      Tiffany

      1. I have been equally absent as well! Oldest is graduating from HS next month and the schedule is a zoo. I did the A to Z challenge last month and my muse needed a rest! Plan on doing the JunNoWriMo challenge which will definitely challenge my muse! Hope that all is well with you!

        Jim

      2. Congrats! I wish them the best in whatever comes next for them. 🙂
        Oh wow, you have been busy! I haven’t given thought to the June NoWrMo, I probably will sit this one out. I’ll be spending a week on the beach in North Carolina during that month, and I plan on doing a lot of reading! (I have a lot to catch up on).
        Aside from my overload at work, things are great.

        Tiffany

  2. Dear Miss Tiffany, These are the episodes that memories are made of. I can’t remember how many times we have gotten lost and I really don’t mind it, unless I need to use a powder room. Great job with the prompt! Nan 🙂

    1. Thanks Nan! All the times I’ve gotten lost I’ve hated it…if I was the one driving (it stresses me out). This particular episode has never happened to me, but I imagine it might someday!

  3. My husband and I always say, “We’re taking the scenic route!” when we’re lost or he decides to take the path least traveled. And her whacking him with the water bottle is priceless. Great story.

    1. It’s what you have to say, I suppose to keep from freaking out. You’re not lost…you just wanted to see something different! Haha I liked that part. It’s totally something I would do. Thanks for reading!

  4. Miss Tiffany, That was hilarious. I laughed out loud when she hit him with the empty water bottle. XD Many men hate to ask for directions. I don’t think some roads are even on GPS. Well written, especially the dialogue. 🙂 —Susan

    1. Thanks Susan! 😀 I love to hear when my stories make people laugh. 🙂 All the men I know certainly hate to ask for directions. I always wondered why that is…they don’t want to ask for help? Thanks again!

Tell me what you think!

