Battery Fully Charged

Yay! It’s time again for Friday Fictioneers, the best time of the week (and currently the only time I seem to be able to get anything written on here…). Thank you, as always, to Rochelle for providing the prompt. Enjoy the story!

Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy
Copyright: Douglas M. MacIlroy

 

Battery Fully Charged

It was on the news for days.

“Reports suggest this could be the biggest storm of the season….”

“Officials urge the public not to panic and prepare for the storm the best they can…”

Mom bought batteries for all the flashlights, filled every available water bottle in the house and filled all the sinks with warm soapy water.

It only took 28 minutes for the power to go out. Outside the storm raged. Thunder crashed, the dogs whined, and my little brother cried because he was afraid of the dark. But I kicked back with my iPad, battery fully charged.

24 thoughts on “Battery Fully Charged

    1. Absolutely, Professor! So good to see you here. Again, I must apologize for my long absence. I’ve really got to figure out how to better manage my time! Hope you are well.

  1. Dear Tiffany,

    At least you can play games on the iPad until the battery drains. Hope it outlasts the power outage.
    You set the tone well. Nicely done.

    shalom,

    Rochelle

    1. Yes, the poor dears. My sister’s dog Riley was absolutely terrified of storms. He was an outside dog, but anytime a storm hit, he always tried to get in the house.

      1. We had a collie dog that demolished a cupboard under the stairs during a storm, simply gnawed the the door and frame to pieces. 😦

  2. Tiffany, Storms can be terrifying. We’ve been having a lot of trouble with the electricity here, probably because of the air conditioners. The other day the electric took the internet cable with it and the server was down. My flash drive wasn’t working either. Time to read a book with a battery lantern on. Speaking of animals and fear, can you imagine how they suffer from the frequent fireworks here in India. Some people give their pets tranquilizers. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    1. Yes they can, Susan! Oh that’s awful, especially if it’s been hot! Though as much as I love my technology, sometimes a storm is the perfect excuse to unplug. I’ve got nothing against reading in the candle light! And oh my, I’m sure my sister’s dog would be scared witless from fireworks!
      Thanks for reading.

  3. Tiffany, Storms are terrible. The other day the electric went off and took the internet cable with it. The internet was down and my flash drive wasn’t working. Time to read a book by battery lantern. Concerning animals and fear, can you imagine the effect the frequent fireworks here in India have on them? Some people give their pets tranquilizers. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

Tell me what you think!

