Burn

Hello readers! Long time no write. I know, I have been very neglectful of all of you in the blogging world. I wish I had a good excuse for you, but I don’t. I can only promise to do better!

I’ll start by rejoining the infamous Friday Fictioneers, led by the lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. It’s been a few weeks since I wrote one, so let’s hope I haven’t lost my touch.

Today’s photo is copyrighted by Kelly Sands.

Copyright: Kelly Sands.
Copyright: Kelly Sands.

 

Burn

A storm was coming.

As dark clouds swallowed the sun, a hush fell over the world, leaving only the whisper of the wind and the low rumble of thunder. Brief flashes of lightning zipped across the sky engaged in a silence dance that entranced Lillian.

Such a beautiful day to die.

The faint metallic smell of oncoming rain assaulted her nose, and Lillian breathed deeply. She knew the storm would arrive soon, but even the rain would not stop what was coming. The stake ahead filled her vision and the torch-bearer beside it grinned as they pronounced her sentence.

Witch.

22 thoughts on “Burn

  1. She seems to be taking her impending doom with defiant acceptance. Maybe the village will get struck by lightning and burn down as a last act of revenge (if she really is a witch, of course) 🙂

    Welcome back!

    1. Indeed she is. I don’t think she will give the crowd the satisfaction of showing fear. Haha maybe it will – she she’s saving all her energy for one last curse. Thank you, I’m glad to be back!

  2. it seems your character Lillian became almost one with the lightning dancing silently through the sky. beautiful description of her calm before the impending storm to come.

    1. I haven’t decided if she casts a spell to curse the village as she burns, or if the gods come down to rescue her, or is she becomes just another innocent in the ruthless witch hunts. In any case, Lillian isn’t afraid of what comes next!

  3. Tiffany, It’s odd people of the time didn’t worry about curses from the people they believed to be witches. It was a great time for people to take vengence on those they wanted to get rid of. Just say they were a witch. There was a lot of burning in those days. Cruelty seemed to have the upper hand. I read that one village in Germany killed off almost all the women in their frenzy. Well written. —Susan

Tell me what you think!

