Prepared For Anything…Except That

Happy Friday, readers! It’s time for Friday Fictioneers, courtesy of Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. Today we’ve got an interesting photo provided by Adam Ickes, one that looks like it could have been taken at my old work place. You never knew what sort of items you could find around there…

Anyway, enjoy today’s story.

Copyright: Adam Ickes
Copyright: Adam Ickes

Prepared For Anything…Except That

When Clarissa sneezed for the sixteenth time that hour, she began to reconsider her new job.

Be prepared for anything, the hiring manager had said.

Working for the CEO of an international bank, Clarissa hoped that meant last minute trips to Hong Kong or Paris.

But for her first day as a PA, Clarissa was tasked to clean out the office closet. Not a problem, she thought, until she walked into the “closet” that was the size of her entire one-bedroom apartment.

She stared warily at the dusty goat head in the corner. I’m not getting paid enough for this.

28 thoughts on “Prepared For Anything…Except That

    1. If she was creative enough…something awesome! But I would be more worried about the infestation of bugs probably living in there…
      Thanks for stopping by, Adam!

  1. This reads like an intriguing opening to a longer tale. I’m wondering what else she’ll find in that closet. Is it going to have a back that opens up onto a snowy landscape, as in The Goat, the Witch and the Wardrobe?

    1. I’m not sure we want to know. But maybe it will open up somewhere even more exciting than Hong Kong or Paris, and make all that cleaning worth it! Thanks for reading.

  2. Maybe the closet-clearing is a test of her determination and once she’s done it, then she’ll get to go on sudden international trips. It’s only her first day, after all!

    1. I agree! But hopefully this is just a one time thing for Clarissa – if she makes it to the end of the day! I think that goat head might just be the last straw.

    1. Oh I know I’d be disappointed too! I think I’d reconsider what kind of man my new boss was if that’s what he keeps in his work closet. Thanks for stopping by!

  3. Seems her salary is more a compensation for pain…good story, there is suspense. I want to know who she is, and her Boss, and what she will do with the goat –
    Liebe Grüße
    Carmen

    1. It does sound that way, doesn’t it? Thank you! I would like to know what drove Clarissa to take this position – was it out of desire to travel, was it money, or something else? I imagine her boss is quite the eccentric. Thanks for reading!

  4. Tiffany, Good story and well written. It looks like employers are taking advantage of the poor job market. No employee, other than the janitorial staff, should have to clean up the place, make coffee for others, etc. I thought that stopped in the 60’s. In the 50’s, my one aunt used to even wash woodwork. My mom thought that was “really” overdoing it. Well done. 🙂 —Susan

    1. Thanks Susan! I think they were definitely taking advantage of the job market and Clarissa’s “newbie” status. It hasn’t, actually. On my second day at my last job, I had to help line my boss’s pond (his house was just down the road from the office). It was almost 90 degrees F out, I was wearing a dressy sweater (because I was working in air conditioning), I burned my hands on the black rubber we were using and nearly ruined my shoes. If I hadn’t been so desperate for a job at the time, I wouldn’t have come back!

Tell me what you think!

