All She Has Is Faith

Happy late Friday, dear Readers! Today I am going to post my Friday Fictioneers on time! Woo hoo! As always, a special thank you to Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who spearheads this marvelous group of writers, and to Bjorn Rudberg for today’s photo. Enjoy the story!

Copyright: Bjorn Rudberg.
Copyright: Bjorn Rudberg.

 

All She Has Is Faith

Hush little baby, don’t you cry, mama’s gonna sing you a lullaby…

Tasha holds her little one close, rocking him gently.

“Daddy doesn’t know you yet, but he will. I’ve sent him a letter.”

The baby whimpers and whines, and Tasha continues to rock him and speak softly.

“When he gets it, he will come for us, and we will be a family.”

Tasha lays her son in his cradle and watches him fall sleep.

“He’ll come, I know he will. He said he’d love me forever.”

She thinks if she says them often enough, the words will be true.

28 thoughts on “All She Has Is Faith

    1. I’m not so sure. Does look like he wanted a family life. Hopefully Tasha will draw strength from her son and let him be the reason she lives for.
      Thanks for reading!

  1. Poor woman, living in denial. I hope she manages to get on with her life soon. From the last sentence, it sounds like she already knows he’s not coming back but isn’t ready to believe it yet.

  2. Dear Tiffany, If he doesn’t show up – let me know – we will get a lynch mob together and go pick him up, tar and feather him and plant him on your patio! Just kidding – Nan 🙂

  3. So sad… he’s not coming! I also felt the undercurrent and build up of tension of something more sinister as mentioned earlier. The picture of an unloved and unkempt house speaks of so much more . Well written.

  4. Tiffany, With his attitude, she and the baby are better off without him. Soon I think she’ll realize that and move on. She was strong enough to make it this far. I’ll give her the benefit of the doubt. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

Tell me what you think!

