Enamored

Good afternoon, readers! I’m still not sure about the new look of this blog – so be prepared to see some more change over the next week or two. Anyway, it’s time for my belated contribution to Friday Fictioneers! As we move into fall and have some new employees starting at work, I’m hoping I’ll have my time management under control again so I can get back to posting regularly! Thank you to Rochelle for today’s prompt and to Madison Woods for today’s slimy picture.

Copyright Madison Woods
Copyright Madison Woods

Enamored

“Oh Grumpkin, not again.”

Hal grimaced as the baby troll held out a slimy wad of half digested slop in its tiny hand. A proud grin filled the troll’s squashed little face, and Hal couldn’t help but feel a twinge in his heart over the adorableness of him.

“Come on Hal, Grumpy’s made a gift for you,” Sonia trilled from the laboratory doorway. Hal resisted the urge to roll his eyes. “He’s got you wrapped around his little troll finger.”

“Hasn’t,” Hal muttered. He smiled at Grumpkin and took the slimy gift from his hand.

“Not at all,” Sonia laughed.

 

14 thoughts on “Enamored

  1. Tiffany, Really cute story. I could just see the little troll holding that mess in his hand. The problem is how big is he going get, and will he still be friendly when he’s older? I don’t know much about trolls. Well written. 🙂 —Susan

    1. It was one of those that made me want to keep on writing – my brain was just churning out all sorts of ideas. You might just see this odd trio again. Thanks for reading! (and I liked my title too. 😉

  2. Dear Tiffany, Love your story and I think it is quite brilliant too! I do think the little Troll has Hal wrapped around his Troll finger indeed! You are a hoot and I love this- great job! Nan 🙂

Tell me what you think!

