Nothing To Lose

Happy Friday, my dear Readers! It’s time again for Friday Fictioneers. I know I skipped last week, but bear with me while I am currently without internet access at home. As always I give special thanks to Rochelle for providing the prompt. Today’s photo was taken by Dawn Q. Landau. Enjoy the story!

Copyright by Dawn Q. Landau
Copyright by Dawn Q. Landau

Nothing To Lose

 

I laughed when they told us we were going to the salt mines.

They aren’t real, I thought.  Just a story to scare kids into behaving. The Roman soldier standing nearest to me frowned. “You won’t last a day,” he told me.

I’ve been working the mines for three days.

Two things are constant; my parched mouth and the sting of salt in my cuts. I’ve learned to hide my flinch at the crack of the whip and keep my eyes downcast.

The other slaves cry for their lost families and homes. I cry because I had none to lose.

15 thoughts on “Nothing To Lose

Tell me what you think!

