A Comic Adventure

This past Saturday, my boyfriend Ryan and I went to the Mid-Ohio Comic Con.

This year we attended as Beast Boy and Ravenmembers of the DC Comics superhero team, the Teen Titans. Ryan decided to put a slight spin on his Beast Boy and go as Vacation Beast Boy, from the movie Trouble in Tokyo. I’m not sure if many people got the reference, but we did and that’s all that matters, really.

Search Trouble in Tokyo
Search Trouble in Tokyo

The best part of the Con, in my opinion, is dressing up and seeing all the other awesome costumes. There’s nothing cooler than walking into a room full of superheroes and villains and characters right out of fairy tales and myth.

Ryan and I, as Beast  Boy and Raven
Ryan and I, as Beast Boy and Raven

It’s also pretty cool having everyone recognize you and stop you for pictures, or being super excited because you are their favorite character! Then there are artists, panels about all your favorite comic books, video games, characters and so much more, as well as meet and greets, merchandise, and of course, loads and loads of comic books. I snagged some pretty sweet graphic novels about J. R. R. Tolkien’s The Hobbit, a few new pieces of art for my walls (including an adorable drawing of juvenile Lois Lane and Clark Kent) and some Lego figurines for my siblings (who absolutely LOVED them. Score one for me!)

If you’ve never been to a Comic Con, and have any interest whatsoever in superheroes, comic books, the onslaught of Marvel and DC movies or the like, I highly recommend giving it a go. I hope you’ll have as much fun as we did! I can’t wait for next year. I’m already thinking about my next cosplay…

6 thoughts on “A Comic Adventure

  1. Ah, sadly we don’t have comic-cons in South Africa. I’m hoping that one day when I’m a successful fantasy author my publisher will fly me over for one 😉

Tell me what you think!

