Frozen Heart

Hello Readers. Long time no see. It was a long, busy November that ended with my grandma passing away, and frankly, I just didn’t feel like writing. But I’m trying to get back into the groove, and I can think of no better way of doing that than Friday Fictioneers! As always, we have our lovely leader Rochelle Wisoff-Fields, who never fails to provide us writers with a prompt. This week we thank Janet Webb for the photo. Enjoy the story!

Copyright: Janet Webb.
Copyright: Janet Webb.

Frozen Heart

Ivan wasn’t sure which was colder: the wind ripping across his exposed cheeks or the cold glare the Ice Queen was currently giving him. The corners of her eyes narrowed and her lips curled.

“You were foolish to come here, Ivan,” she snarled.

He gave her a crooked grin. “I told you I’d be back, Nadia.”

A gust of ice filled wind ripped past him, cutting his face. Ivan reached up to touch the blood on his cheek.

“I warned you what would happen if you did.”

“I love you!”

The Ice Queen paused. “Perhaps you used to. No longer.”

10 thoughts on “Frozen Heart

  1. Dear Tiffany,

    So sorry to hear about your grandmother. It’s hard to lose a loved one. My heart goes out to you.

    At any rate, I’m glad to see you back. There must be a reason she’s become the Ice Queen. It doesn’t bode well for him. Nicely done.

    Shalom,

    Rochelle

Tell me what you think!

