Charmed

Happy Friday, dear Readers! It’s another cold one here in Ohio, (and much of the East Coast I believe) so bundle up and gather around for Friday Fictioneers! Each week I and a whole myriad of other writers write a 100 word short story inspired by a photo prompt provided by our lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s photo is provided by Dawn Q. Landau. Without further ado, here’s my story!

Copyright: Dawn Q. Landau
Copyright: Dawn Q. Landau
Charmed

Dong. Dong. Dong.

Seven times I heard the town bells. I did not turn back.

“Come Johann,” I called. The shaggy shepherd dog I had found on the outskirts of town followed me, his tag wagging. His love had been instant and easy, a pat on the head, a crust of bread. If only charming humans could be as simple.

But Step-Father had been charmed, hadn’t he? Charmed by Mama’s money. Mama had been charmed too. Charmed by his gentleman’s act.

Mama’s gone now. Taken by the sickness.

I’m leaving. I’ll be damned if he’s going to charm me too.

8 thoughts on “Charmed

Tell me what you think!

