The Forever Journey

Happy Friday, Readers! What a crazy one it’s been (for me anyway.) So glad the weekend is finally here!

Now it is time for Friday Fictioneers (best part of the week!), hosted by Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s photo prompt is provided by Jennifer Pendergast. Enjoy my story!

Copyright: Jennifer Pendergast.
Copyright: Jennifer Pendergast.
The Forever Journey

I wake up to the sound of the train’s whistle. It’s the same sound I wake up to everyday.

I’ve started everyday the same way for the past 150 years. Everyday is the same. I wake up on a train headed East. Mama and I are going to live with her parents, the grandparents I barely remember. Mama is happy for the first time since Papa died.

I’m not. I wander on around the train. That’s when I hear it. I barely have time to feel it before we crash-

I wake up to the sound of the train’s whistle.

28 thoughts on “The Forever Journey

  1. Yeeks, stuck in the same nightmare scenario forever. I have visions of a ghost train, doomed to barrel down the tracks towards disaster until the end of time. Great story!

  2. Recurring nightmares are bad enough during a person’s lifetime. But for ever and ever…! Perish the thought! Perhaps warm imilk before bedtime would help? Seriously though, this is very well done.

  3. The sound of that whistle must be so haunting. They already feel a bit haunting to me anyway, and it must be even more so in a dream. Great story, Tiffany.

  4. Very well done – really works to the extent I find myself thinking how are we going to solve this, to free this soul. Perhaps you can dream a happy ending for me!

Tell me what you think!

