Last Wish

Happy Friday, Readers! It’s time again for Friday Fictioneers. (yay!) Hosted by our lovely leader, Rochelle, the Fictioneer bunch gather each week to write 100 words based on the photo prompt provided. This week we thank Kent Bonham for the photo. If you’d like to read more stories inspired by this prompt, check them out here. Enjoy!

Copyright: Kent Bonham
Copyright: Kent Bonham

Last Wish

“You will come back, won’t you, Charlie?”

“Of course, JoJo.” I tried to ignore the stabbing pain in my chest at the sound of her weak, trembling voice. She smiled, a smile so big I felt like my heart would burst. I reached out and squeezed her pale, boney hand, an IV needle poking from it. “I’ll bring you a croissant, direct from Paris.”

“And a baguette?” she laughed.

“Anything,” I promised. “I wish I could take you with me.”

“Someday,” she says wistfully.

The phone call came en route from Paris. Johanna was gone, and I was too late.

33 thoughts on “Last Wish

Tell me what you think!

