A Hasty Proposal

Happy Friday, my dear Readers! I’m a little late, but there’s still time for Friday Fictioneers with Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s photo is provided by Sandra Crook. I really love this photo. It puts me in mind of my lovely days in Bath, England. Even though I know this isn’t actually Bath, I can’t help but think if that…and Jane Austen. Naturally, my writing was influenced.Β Enjoy my story!

Copyright: Sandra Crook
Copyright: Sandra Crook

A Hasty Proposal

Claire was aghast. “Please Mr. Wiggans, I cannot!” she cried, then immediately coloured upon seeing his shocked face. “Forgive me, Sir, I was ungracious. You caught me quite unawares.” She tried to collect herself. “I am honoured by your proposal Sir, but I must decline it. I cannot marry you.”

Mr. Wiggans stood. “Miss Charleston, why ever not? Surely I have not done something to offend you?”

“Oh Sir, certainly not! Your manners have been everything that is proper and pleasing.”

“Then whatever is the matter?”

Claire was all astonishment. “Why Mr. Wiggans, I have scarce known you three days!”

38 thoughts on “A Hasty Proposal

    1. I have too. I meant to write this in the style of Jane Austen, so this would have taken place in the 1800s. I’m sure hasty marriages weren’t uncommon – but I think Claire made the right decision! Thanks for reading.

  1. I’m sure 3 days (or at least not long) was quite common in those days (or have I been watching the wrong costume dramas?)!
    I loved the dialogue. It sounded very authentic πŸ™‚

    1. I think you’re quite right. My Jane Austen is my hero, and not one of her heroines married without love…so neither could mine! Thank you, I hoped it would. πŸ™‚

  2. Hey, when you know, you know!
    I think Mick and I could’ve married after knowing each other three days. Why our first date never ended until I lost him this last December!

    1. Indeed he does! He is most self-assured. I’m sure in those times, they would have made the best of it whether it worked or not. But I think Claire made the right decision! Thanks for reading! πŸ™‚

  3. I think he was just trying to save her from becoming an old maid. πŸ™‚
    But seriously, I agree with Alicia. The dialogue captured the times quite well.

  4. This is very enjoyable and authentic. Poor Mr. Wiggans is a realist. I’m reminded of the conversation between Lizzie Bennet, Charlotte and Lizzie’s aunt about finding husbands. Women who weren’t rich hat few other possibilities. Which didn’t prevent the Austen heroines from marrying for love. Maybe Claire is just as lucky (and I feel the sudden urge for a reread…) πŸ™‚

    1. Thank you! Yes, I borrowed heavily from Austen in this scene…but perhaps all hope isn’t lost for Mr. Wiggans (even if his name does start with W…maybe he’s not a Wickham, but a Wentworth). I guess only time will tell.
      Thank you for your comment and stopping by to read! I had a lot of fun with this one. πŸ™‚

Tell me what you think!

