Plot Interrupted

Happy Friday, my dear Readers! Sorry for skipping last week, but things got a little busy. Still, I’m back with week with another Friday Fictioneers, inspired by the prompt from the lovely Rochelle Wisoff-Fields. This week’s photo credit goes to C.E. Ayr.

Copyright C.E. Ayr
Copyright C.E. Ayr

Plot Interrupted

The moment Ms. Sanchez’s rumbling snores could be heard in the next room, Carmen threw off her covers and slipped silently out her bedroom window. She ran to the gate, climbed nimbly over it, then paused to adjust her skirt and hair. Nick was waiting, but she wanted to look her best. She intended to get a kiss tonight, even if she had to steal it.

Light suddenly flooded the drive. Carmen froze. From behind her Ms. Sanchez’s shrill voice cut through the warm night air.

“Where in the world do you think you’re going, Carmen Sandiego?”

She winced. Busted.

 

Carmen Sandiego is copyrighted by Brøderbund Software. I only borrowed her for a bit of Friday fun. How many of you are singing the theme song now?

19 thoughts on “Plot Interrupted

  1. Dang! It’s sometimes hard to get that “first” kiss (I imagine it as a first kiss).
    (“Nick was waiting, but she wanted to look her best.” May I suggest using “and “instead of “but” in this sentence or rewriting in to read ~ She wanted to look her best, Nick was waiting.)

    1. I imagine it is sometimes. Yes, I think it was a first kiss. 🙂
      Thanks for the advice – I suppose I was trying to emphasize that she was in a rush (so she wouldn’t get caught or be late) but still paused a moment to check her appearance. Thanks for reading so closely though!

    1. I remember having a computer game called “Where in the World is Carmen Sandiego?” – she is an international thief and you have to track her down. It was meant to help kids learn geography. I think there were some cartoons too. I definitely remember a theme song.
      Thanks for reading!

  2. Where on Earth Is Carmen Sandiego … er … going? I love this. Especially the little ‘even if she had to steal it.’ I only know the character from the cartoon (and yes, the tune is now stuck in my head). Was the game called ‘where in the world’ as opposed to ‘where on Earth’?

    1. I’m glad someone got it! 😀 I’m not sure what the games were called, but I know the phrase in the song is “Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego” so that’s what I went with. I’m glad you enjoyed it – thanks for reading!

Tell me what you think!

