One Last Regret

Happy Friday, Readers! Today I have a Friday Fictioneers story for you! Thank you to the lovely Rochelle for providing the prompt and to Lucy Fridkin for this week’s photo.

In case you were wondering, I listened to a lot of Taylor Swift before writing this.

Enjoy!

Copyright: Lucy Fridkin
Copyright: Lucy Fridkin

Her Last Regret

Her phone rang.

Jo hesitated only a moment before answering it. “Hey, Mom.”

“Did you make it alright?”

She glanced around her hotel room, outfitted in neutral colors and bland furniture. “Yeah. I’m here.”

“How was your flight?”

“Fine.”

“I hope you have a good time, honey.”

“Thanks.”

“Call me if you need anything.”

“I will.”

“I love you.”

“I love you too, Mom.” As she hung up, there was a knock on the door. It was him.

“You ready?” he smiled, charming as ever. Her resolve wavered.

“I’m sorry,” Jo said, heart in her mouth. “I can’t do this.”

Tell me what you think!

