Born To Be With You

Today, I am 26 years old.

A lot of people, experiences and places have shaped me into the woman I am today, but right now I just want to talk about one. There’s one person in particular has had a very special role in my life – a soulmate.

I used to think of soulmates in the romantic sense. My daydreaming heart couldn’t help but long for the day when I would meet the man who would complement me in every way, whose presence in my life would be as natural as breathing, who I couldn’t bear to live without.

I am no longer waiting or dreaming about my soulmate.

Now I have come to understand the term “soulmate” differently. No longer is it exclusively a romantic term, one that can only be given to my significant other. In the most basic terms, Wikipedia says that a soulmate “is a person with whom one has a feeling of deep or natural affinity.”

There is no one with whom I have a more natural affinity with than my dad.

Dad and Tiffany, 1992
Dad and Tiffany, 1992

We are truly kindred spirits. I suppose it started twenty-six years ago, when my tiny little body was placed in his arms for the first time. Dad has told me many times about that day – but only when we’re feeling mushy and sentimental, of course.

When I was a baby I sat in Dad’s lap or lay in my rocker at his feet while he watched basketball. (Giving Mom a much needed break.) When I was a little older we watched Batman and Gargoyles. And for most of my young adult life, we’ve watched nearly every superhero show out there, our favorites always being the Superman ones. (Next up we’re going to trying the 80’s series Moonlighting. We loved Castle, so hopefully this will be in the same vein). Dad turned me on to classic rock music – Elton John, Billy Joel, John Mellencamp, the Eagles, the Beatles, etc. by listening to the oldies station every morning on the way to school. (I still hold the record for being able to guess what song was going to play next on the radio…once.) And every Sunday we listen to Casey Kasem’s America’s Top Forty from the 60’s, 70’s and 80’s. I cherish all the time spent with him – every laugh, every hug or kiss on the cheek, the endless teasing, and pure contentment.

Dad can fix or build anything. Be it a car, a sink, the wall, putting those super tiny stickers on every accessory that came with my Barbie grocery store (like 100), the DVD player, a catapult for a science project….the list goes on. If he can’t do it, then he learns how. But by now I’m just convinced he can do anything.

And I do mean anything. Even help a young woman navigate through the ups and downs of love. I have long since discovered that I can talk to my dad about anything and he will listen. Just listen. And give his honest opinion when asked for it (and sometimes when it isn’t asked for). He’s there to help me pick up the pieces or smile with me over the good times, and help me figure out the confusing ones. Even if it is “girl talk”, Dad’s got my back. I’ve gotten some of the best advice I’ve ever received from my dad, and I know I will carry it with me all my life and someday pass it on to my own children.

It’s not always smooth sailing, though. We haven’t always seen eye to eye, and there has been some intense disagreements in our past. But I think working through those difficult times has only made our relationship stronger.

Dad and I would be terrible people to watch movies with, because we are constantly commenting on what’s going on, or making guesses about what’s going to happen next, or laughing at something at just happened, or making fun of each other for something we said. But that’s the fun of it. Half the time we don’t even need to say it aloud, because we’re both thinking the same thing.

Dad and Tiffany, 2015
Dad and Tiffany, 2015

I wouldn’t trade this camaraderie with my dad for anything. In fact it is one of the most treasured things in my life.

My dad is amazing. He’s smart, clever, funny, skilled, athletic, loves his family more than anything, and underneath it all, is a softie. (shhhh, don’t tell anyone).

And he’s my soulmate.

***

This post is inspired by a past WordPress Daily Prompt, which was:
Got a soul-mate and/or a best friend? What is it about that person that you love best? Describe them in great detail — leave no important quality out.

4 thoughts on “Born To Be With You

  1. This was lovely to read 🙂 I’m getting a strong urge to call my dad and tell him I love him, haha :p (although I probably shouldn’t, it’s nearly 4 a.m. where he is now!)

Tell me what you think!

