Outside of the World

Happy Friday Readers! Another week has come and gone already! I’m sorry for skipping last week, but I’m back again with another Friday Fictioneers adventure with Emmeline and Nicholas. And since I missed last week…I made this story 200 words instead of the usual 100. I hope you’ll enjoy it!

Special thanks to Rochelle for always providing a prompt (even when some of us skip a week) and to Liz Young for this week’s photo!

Copyright: Liz Young

Outside of the World

The frost tipped grass crunched under Nick’s oxford shoes as he made his way through the tiny cemetery. Most of the stones were crumbling, their names and dates faded or illegible.

Suddenly he saw her. She was sitting on a stone bench, hands folded in her lap. For a second Nick hesitated, unwilling to disturb her, but she shifted and looked up, catching sight of him immediately.

“Nicholas? what are you doing here? Is anything wrong?”

“Your office told me I could find you here,” Nick said. “I-I’m sorry, I shouldn’t have come, it’s nothing important…” He turned to leave.

“Wait,”said Emmeline, rising to her feet. Nick stopped. “I come here to think sometimes.” She reached out and took his hand, pulling him back towards the bench.

“Why here?” The cemetery was old. No one had probably been buried there for over 50 years.

Emmeline shrugged. “It’s peaceful. Quiet. I feel outside of the world here.”

Nick looked around. His eye caught on the tombstone directly in front of them. His eyes widened. “That’s your name!” he cried, jumping up to look closer at the faded letters. He touched the stone. “How strange!”

“Stranger than you think,” she whispered.

2 thoughts on “Outside of the World

Tell me what you think!

