We Almost Lost It

Happy Friday, Readers! I’m back with another Friday Fictioneers story about Nick and Emmeline. If you are just joining us, you can catch up and start reading Nick and Emmeline’s story here.

As always, special thanks to Rochelle for providing us with our weekly prompt, and today we thank J. Hardy Carroll for the photo.

Enjoy!

Copyright: J. Hardy Carroll

We Almost Lost It

 It was sudden. Hearing her voice, seeing her smile…it was like the floor disappeared beneath him. Nick set the coffee down heavily on the nearest available surface and half stumbled over to her bedside.

Silently Emmeline held out her hand for him to take. Gently Nick brought it to his lips. “I thought…” his voice cracked. “I thought I might lose you,” he said. He bowed his head, his breathing ragged.

“But you didn’t,” Emmeline said softly, giving his hand a weak squeeze.

“And I never told you…” Nick trailed off.

“Told me what, Nickolas?”

“I love you, Emmeline Price.”

Tell me what you think!

